List of Buhari’s Ministers That Missed APC Resignation Deadlines

List of Buhari’s Ministers That Missed APC Resignation Deadlines

Despite the directive from the governing body of the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC) which directed ambitious appointees at federal and state levels to resign their offices a month to the party’s primaries, some ministers in the cabinet of President Muhammadu Buhari eyeing elective posts in 2023 are yet to do so.

Their refusal to step down has also contravened the contentious Section 84(12) of the Electoral Act, which also demands resignation before participating in primaries.

Here is a list of the ministers that have defied the party.

1. Rotimi Amaechi (Transport)

List of Buhari’s Ministers That Missed APC Resignation Deadlines
Rotimi Amaechi is one of the ministers who refused to step down. Photo: Doris Umoh
Source: Twitter

Rotimi Chibuike Amaechi, the minister of transportation is a presidential aspirant on the platform of the All Progressives Congress (APC). The former Rivers state governor and a strong chieftain of the ruling party is one of the few minister's to resign despite the APC directive.

Read also

9 APC presidential aspirants set to withdraw from race, Orji Kalu says, reveals who they will support

PAY ATTENTION: Subscribe to Digital Talk newsletter to receive must-know business stories and succeed BIG!

2. Chris Ngige, (Labour and Employment)

List of Buhari’s Ministers That Missed APC Resignation Deadlines
The minister of labour and employment has insisted that he would not step down. Photo: APC
Source: Twitter

Ngige, the minister of labour and employment, in defiance to the directive by his party says he would not resign from office.

He said he was unaware of any law requiring him to resign to contest the presidential ticket of the APC at least, 30 days before the conduct of party primaries.

When reminded that the APC has asked all ministers to resign, he said:

“No, it’s not there. It’s not in the works at all. But I will make some consultation with the party, I will find out.
“I have not seen that pronunciation from the party. I have not seen any release from the party. It has not been conveyed to me or to anybody. I’m an aspirant, I’m a presidential aspirant. So I’ll find out and if it is true, I will then know what to do.”

Read also

2023: Amid uncertainties of membership status, Jonathan set to submit APC form

3. Chukwuemeka Nwajiuba (state education)

List of Buhari’s Ministers That Missed APC Resignation Deadlines
Chukwuemeka Nwajiuba has openly dismissed the idea of resignation.
Source: UGC

Minister of state for Education, Hon. Emeka Nwajiuba who also declared his intention to contest for office of the president in the 2023 general election ruled out the possibility of resigning his position ahead of APC presidential primary.

“The resignation of a minister or anybody who is in office is guided by the Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria.
“We are required to contest election if we want. We are required to resign 30 days before any election we choose to contest. That is the position of the law. Every other person can have an opinion."

4. Abubakar Malami, Attorney-General of the Federation and Minister of Justice

List of Buhari’s Ministers That Missed APC Resignation Deadlines
Abubakar Malami is another top chieftain that is not ready to resign. Photo: Abubakar Malami
Source: Facebook

Minister of Justice and Attorney-General of the Federation, Abubakar Malami, says he is interested in contesting the Kebbi state governorship election. A month to the party primary, the powerful minister is yet to obey the party with his resignation letter.

Read also

Analysis: Is Chukwuemeka Nwajiuba Buhari's favourite APC aspirant?

2023: Only corrupt politicians can afford N100m for APC presidential nomination form - CISLAC

Similarly a recent report by, the Civil Society Legislative Advocacy Centre (CISLAC) also greeted the exorbitant price of nomination forms with criticism.

Reacting to the fee, the executive director of CISLAC, Auwal Rafsanjani describes the decision as shameful.

The CISLAC boss who was not pleased with the decision accused the party of attempting to sieve out women, youths and well-meaning Nigerians from participating in politics.


Online view pixel