APC Plans To Inaugurate Board Of Trustees In July

APC Plans To Inaugurate Board Of Trustees In July

The leaders of the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC) plan to inaugurate a Board of Trustees to solve the crisis in the National Assembly.

Punch reports that calls for the inauguration came following the brick wall the governor of Sokoto state, Aminu Tambuwal-led committee, ran into in resolving the crisis.

While Alhaji Lai Mohammed, the APC spokesman, said he didn’t know any date fixed for the inauguration, some sources cited June 20.

READ ALSO: Tambuwal's Meeting: Mess At The National Assembly

When asked about the exact that for the proposes meeting, Lai  Mohammed said: “I am not aware.”

A member of the APC caucus, who asked not to be named, said disputes of this nature fall within the purview of the BoT.

He said that this “is because the BoT consists of experienced party men who are leaders and elders in their own right.

This embarrassment to the party has gone on for too long. I think the BoT will be in a better position to deal with such issues.

“If you look at Article 13.2 (A) (IV) of our constitution, you will see that one of the major functions of the BoT is to deal with issues of this nature.

“It reads, ‘Act as arbitrators and mediators in disputes and ensure the enforcement of discipline in accordance with the constitution of the party.

“Like my brother Chief Audu Ogbeh said recently, we cannot afford to leave things to continue like this in the interest of our party and the Nigerian nation. Nigerians are not interested in our quarrels but solution to their problems.”

According to the APC’s constitution and the decision of the NEC, some of the party’s chief who will be inaugurated as members of the BoT comprise President Muhammadu Buhari, Vice President Yemi Osinbajo, ex-Vice President Atiku Abubakar and a national leader of the APC, Bola Tinubu.

READ ALSO: National Assembly Crisis: Tambuwal Fails Peace Talks With Gbajabiamila And Dogara

The national chairman of the APC, John Oyegun, Senate President Bukola Saraki, Speaker of the House of Representatives, Yakubu Dogara, all APC governors, all past governors (whether civilian or military), two senators representing each of the six geo-political zones and a member representing each state and the FCT also to be included.

Others on the list are the pioneer Chairman of APC, Chief Bisi Akande, a former National Chairman of the PDP, Chief Audu Ogbeh, another former National Chairman of PDP, Alhaji Kawu Baraje, ex-National Chairman of ANPP, Chief Ogbonnaya Onu, Prince Tony Momoh, Chief Barnabas Gemade, Alhaji Yusuf Garba Ali, Mustapha Aliyu, the National Secretary of the APC, Mallam Mai Mala Buni, and Gen. Ahmed Aboki (retd.)

It would be recalled that APC governors had last week set up a committee under the chairmanship of the Aminu Tambuwal, to meet with the arguing members of the House of Representatives with a view to resolving the crisis.

Meanwhile, representatives from supporters of Speaker Yakubu Dogara and Femi Gbajabiamila showed that none of them is willing to make considerable agreements.

Source: Legit.ng

Khadijah Thabit avatar

Khadijah Thabit (Copyeditor) Khadijah Thabit is an editor with over 3 years of experience editing and managing contents such as articles, blogs, newsletters and social leads. She has a BA in English and Literary Studies from the University of Ibadan, Nigeria. Khadijah joined Legit.ng in September 2020 as a copyeditor and proofreader for the Human Interest, Current Affairs, Business, Sports and PR desks. As a grammar police, she develops her skills by reading novels and dictionaries. Email: khadeeejathabit@gmail.com

Online view pixel