LASG Plans 398 Inner Roads

LASG Plans 398 Inner Roads

Lagos State Governor Babatunde Fashola on Thursday said his administration planned to construct 398 more inner roads to complement the existing ones in the state.

The governor added that  156 of these roads had been awarded, while contractors for 82 of them had been mobilised.

Fashola, who spoke at the 2012 ‘Be Road Friendly Competition’, organised by Traffic Safety Advocacy Programme for students in primary and secondary schools, urged all residents to help  make the state better.

The contestants, in their presentations, advocated  cleaner and effective  road networks, which should also be friendlier to the physically challenged persons.

He said, “Our children are telling us the way they want to live. They will achieve it whether we like it or not. We either be part of it or they will do it alone.

“They talk about Ajao road in Surulere. I am sure that the road is part of the next projects of the Ministry of Works.

“The Commissioner (works) presented 398 proad projects to the exco. Out of these, 156 had been approved and contractors for 82 of the roads had been mobilised.”

The governor pointed out that the rot on the roads was brought by collective actions and it would also take a collective efforts to ensure sanity.

Fashola said the competition was the govrnment’s contribution to improving road safety.

He urged attitude change on traffic issue, saying restraint and patience would solve a lot of problems while impatience would compound them.

Earlier, the Commissioner for Transportation, Kayode Opeifa, said government was working to reduce road accidents in the state by 50 per cent by 2015.

He added that government had been spending meaningfully to make sure that roads in the state conform with best standard.

He said, “We have started the provision of 200 zebra crossing to 200 school entrances in the state.

“The target is to make sure that we provide zebra crossing to the 1, 001 primary schools and 641 secondary schools in Lagos.”

At the end of the competition, Thompson Abimbola emerged winner in the Senior Secondary School category.

Also,  Anyalechi Modellina  and Paul Ebuka emerged winners in the primary and junior secondary schools categories respectively.


Online view pixel