List: 20 new private universities approved by FG

List: 20 new private universities approved by FG

- The establishment of 20 new private universities has been approved by the Federal Executive Council (FEC)

- The development was made public in a memo presented by the minister of education, Adamu Adamu

- Adamu said the approved universities will get their provisional licenses from the National Universities Commission

PAY ATTENTION: Join Telegram channel! Never miss important updates!

A report by Channels TV indicates that the Federal Executive Council (FEC) on Wednesday, February 3, approved twenty new private universities to be cited in different parts of the country.

The resolution was made after Adamu Adamu, the minister of education presented a memo before the council.

Adamu explained that the newly-established higher institutions are to be given provisional licenses to run for three years from the National Universities Commission (NUC), Daily Nigerian reports.

Full list: 20 new private universities approved by FEC
FEC has approved the establishment of 20 ne private universities in Nigeria. Photo credit: @BashirAhmaad
Source: Twitter

He went on to note that the growth of the universities will be monitored and evaluated by the ministry of education.

Read also

15 facts about Nigeria's new police IG, Mohammed Abubakar Adamu

The approved institutions are:

1. Topfaith University, Mkpatak, Akwa Ibom state

2. Thomas Adewumi University, Oko-Irese, Kwara state

3. Maranathan University, Mgbidi, Imo state

4. Ave Maria University, Piyanko, Nasarawa state

5. Al-Istiqama University, Sumaila, Kano state

6. Mudiame University, Irrua, Edo state

7. Havilla University, Nde-Ikom, Cross River state

8. Claretian University of Nigeria, Nekede, Imo state

9. NOK University, Kachia, Kaduna state

10 Karl-Kumm University, Vom, Plateau state

11. James Hope University, Lagos, Lagos state

12. Maryam Abacha American University of Nigeria, Kano, Kano state

13. Capital City University, Kano, Kano state

14. Ahman Pategi University, Pategi, Kwara state

15. University of Offa, Offa, Kwara state

16. Mewar University, Masaka, Nasarawa state

17. Edusoko University, Bida, Niger state

18. Philomath University, Kuje, Abuja

19. Khadija University, Majia, Jigawa state

20. Anan University, Kwall, Plateau state

PAY ATTENTION: Install our latest app for Android, read best news on Nigeria’s #1 news app

Read also

Top 20 universities in Nigeria

Varsity workers set for mother of strike

Meanwhile, reported that the Senior Staff Association of Nigeria Universities (SSANU) and Non-Academic Staff Union of Universities (NASU) have vowed to continue with their planned strike action.

This is as the meeting between the varsity workers and the federal government on Tuesday, February 2, ended in deadlock.

In a statement released to pressmen, the bodies said they are giving a two-week notice and ultimatum to the federal government to entertain their demands.


Oluwatobi Bolashodun avatar

Oluwatobi Bolashodun Oluwatobi Bolashodun is a journalist with six years of working experience in the media industry. She graduated from Babcock University with a Bachelor’s Degree in Mass Communication. Oluwatobi is a former Current Affairs Editor, mostly writing on political, educational, and business topics.

Online view pixel