Full list of US senators who have vowed to reject Biden's victory

Full list of US senators who have vowed to reject Biden's victory

The presidential election in the United States is certainly one of the longest electoral processes in global democracy.

PAY ATTENTION: Join Legit.ng Telegram channel! Never miss important updates!

Though the election was conducted on Tuesday, November 3, 2020 (including a huge number of votes cast before the day), the processes of certifying the winner of the election is yet to be concluded.

Though the candidate of the Democratic Party, Joe Biden, has won the popular and the Electoral College votes, he still has the last hurdle to cross on Wednesday, January 6, when the Congress will meet to certify his victory.

US election: Full list of US senators who have vowed to reject Biden's victory
Full list of US senators who have vowed to reject Biden's victory. Photo credits: Sarah Silbiger, Tasos Katopodis
Source: Getty Images

This last hurdle appears to be the last hope President Donald Trump is holding on to as he insists he won the election and vows to present "massive amounts of evidence" on January 6.

The US president is not acting alone; he has some senators on the platform of the Republican Party who have also vowed to object to Biden's victory when the Congress meets on Wednesday.

Read also

Leaked phone call reveals how Trump threatened U.S official over election results

The lawmakers wanted a commission to investigate the allegations of electoral fraud raised by President Trump, despite the fact that most of the lawsuits filed by the president have been thrown out for lacking merit.

This piece by Legit.ng presents the full list of the 12 Republican senators who have expressed determination to object to Biden's victory, as reported by Washington Post.

1. Sen. Marsha Blackburn

2. Sen. Mike Braun

3. Sen. Ted Cruz

4. Sen. Steve Daines

5. Sen. Bill Hagerty

6. Sen. Josh Hawley

7. Sen. Ron Johnson

8. Sen. John Neely Kennedy

9. Sen. James Lankford

10. Sen. Cynthia Lummis

11. Sen. Roger Marshall

12. Sen. Tommy Tuberville

PAY ATTENTION: Install our latest app for Android, read best news on Nigeria’s #1 news app

Can their objection stop Biden from being sworn-in?

According to Washington Post, the senator's objection is not expected to prevail because the Democrats control the House of Representatives and they will need almost every Republican senators to join them for their demand to stand.

Read also

Confusion in America as Trump insists he won US presidential election, reveals when he will present fresh evidence against Biden's victory

How, the US news media noted that the objection will force a debate, making the process, which is usually a formality, unnecessarily long.

It will also force lawmakers to choose between honoring the choice of voters or standing with President Trump.

Meanwhile, a new report has revealed that President Trump allegedly pressured Georgia’s Republican secretary of state, Brad Raffensperger to “find” enough votes to overturn Biden’s win in the state’s presidential election.

According to the report, Trump repeatedly cited disproven claims of fraud and raising the prospect of “criminal offense” if officials did not change the vote count.

The report stated that the US president's conversation with the official was recorded and has now been released.

Nigerians who shone brightly at the US elections | Legit TV

Source: Legit.ng

Online view pixel