President Buhari signs 2021 budget into law

President Buhari signs 2021 budget into law

- In what appears to be his last official public assignment for the year 2020, President Muhammadu Buhari has signed into law the 2021 budget

- The budget of N13.5 trillion was passed at an event held at the State House in Abuja

- Senate president, Ahmad Lawan, was present at the event with other top principal officers of the two legislative chambers

PAY ATTENTION: Join Telegram channel! Never miss important updates!

President Muhammadu Buhari has signed the 2021 appropriation bill into law. At the event held inside the Council Chambers, State House on Thursday, December 31, the president assented the budget of N13,588,027,886,175 trillion.

Bashir Ahmad, a media aide to the president on new media, made this known in a tweet on Thursday afternoon.

The event was witnessed by the principal officers of the National Assembly led by the Senate president, Dr Ahmad Lawan. recalls that the 2021 appropriation bill was passed by the Nigerian Senate during a plenary on Monday, December 21, months after it was presented to the NASS by President Buhari.

Read also

Glorious days ahead? Presidency reveals when Buhari will sign 2021 budget into law (here is exact date)

President Buhari signs 2021 budget into law
President Buhari has signed the 2021 budget into law. Credit: @BashirAhmad
Source: Facebook

President Buhari had in October presented N13.08 trillion budget to the lawmakers of both legislative chambers.

The Senate president expressed confidence in the budget supporting the public expenditure despite the coronavirus pandemic which is responsible for the economic crisis.

This publication had also reported how Garba Shehu, a senior media and publicity aide to the president, on Thursday morning announced that the budget would be passed on the last day of the year 2020.

The presidential aide also disclosed that the 2021 budget would be presented to President Buhari for signing by Senator Babajide Omoworare, senior special assistant to the president on NASS matters.

PAY ATTENTION: Install our latest app for Android, read the best news on Nigeria’s #1 news app

Meanwhile, four senators recently elected through bye-elections in states across the country were on Tuesday, December 15, sworn-in by the Senate president, Lawan.

Read also

Year in Review: 7 high-profile scandals that rocked public offices, politicians in 2020 (Magu, NDDC)

The new senators include Adetokunbo Abiru (Lagos East), Senator Henry Seriake Dickson (Bayelsa West), Senator Cleopas Moses (Bayelsa Central) and Senator Nora Ladi Dadu’ut (Plateau South).

The clerk of the House administered the oath of office and oath of allegiance on the new senators at the inception of plenary. The new lawmakers are expected to represent their constituencies diligently by sponsoring bills that would further the national interest.

President Buhari knows he can be summoned - Falana to Malami | Legit TV


Online view pixel