INEC fixes March 14 for bye-elections in Jigawa, Niger, Kwara and Sokoto

INEC fixes March 14 for bye-elections in Jigawa, Niger, Kwara and Sokoto

- INEC has released date and time-table to conduct bye-election in four states, Jigawa, Niger, Kwara, and Sokoto

- The resolve was made after the notification of vacancies had been earlier conveyed to the commission

- According to the schedule signed by the secretary to the commission, the elections will take place on Saturday, March 14

Following the vacant positions in the National and state Assembly in four states, Jigawa, Niger, Kwara, and Sokoto states, the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has released the schedule of activities for bye-elections. gathered that the electoral body on Wednesday, February 12, said that it will on Saturday, March 14, conduct bye-elections in order for the offices to be occupied.

Notification of vacancies had been earlier conveyed in the following constituencies Babura/Garki Federal, Magama/Rijau Federal, Patigi and Kebbe after the death of the lawmakers.

Going by the timetable, campaigns are expected to end on Thursday, March 12, to allow for the by-elections which the commission has fixed for Saturday, March 14.

INEC announces date for Edo, Ondo governorship elections

The schedule, signed by Rose Oriaran-Anthony, secretary to the commission, stated that the last day for the conduct of primaries by political parties will be on Sunday, February 16, while the submission of forms CF001, and list of nominated candidates is Tuesday, February 25.

Meanwhile, previously reported that INEC is set to conduct the re-run election in nine local government areas in Kano state.

PAY ATTENTION: Install our latest app for Android, read the best news on Nigeria’s #1 news app

The Kano state REC, Professor Riskua Shehu, disclosed this on Tuesday, January 14 at a meeting of the commission with stakeholders in Kano.

Similarly, the commission has fixed the dates for the upcoming governorship elections in Edo and Ondo states. The INEC chairman, Mahmood Yakubu, in a press briefing at the commission’s headquarters in Abuja on Thursday, February 6, disclosed that the Edo governorship election will hold on September 19, while that of Ondo state will hold October 10.

Ihedioha should never have been declared the winner - Oshiomhole ( -> Same great journalism, upgraded for better service!

Bayelsa election: Party agents argue fiercely over results anomaly | - on Legit TV


Online view pixel