INEC announces Governor Masari as winner of Katsina election

INEC announces Governor Masari as winner of Katsina election

- Aminu Masari has been declared the winner of Katsina governorship election

- Masari is the incumbent governor of his state and this is his re-election for a second term in office

- The governor polled 1,178,864 votes to defeat the candidate of the PDP, Yakubu Lado, who scored 488,621

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has declared Governor Aminu Masari as winner of Saturday’s governorship election in Katsina state.

The Returning Officer for the governorship election, Prof Abdullahi Abdu Zuru, Vice Chancellor, Usmanu Danfodio University, Sokoto, said that Masari polled 1,178,864 votes to defeat PDP’s Senator Yakubu Lado, who scored 488,621 votes in the election.

He said that the state had a total of 3.2 million registered voters.

READ ALSO: LIVE UPDATES: Official INEC collation of governorship results

According to him, the total accredited voters were 1,173,780, while the votes cast were 1,720,638 and 37,593 votes were rejected.

The Returning Officer said that “the APC candidate, Aminu Masari, having satisfied the requirements of the law and scored highest number of votes is hereby declared winner and returned elected.”

The News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) reports that Masari defeated the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) candidate, Senator Yakubu Lado and 16 other candidates in all the 34 local government areas of the state.

NAN also reports that the PDP had already rejected the results announced by the INEC.

PAY ATTENTION: Read the news on Nigeria’s #1 news app

The PDP state chairman, Alhaji Salisu Majigiri, alleged that the results declared by the INEC did not tally with the low turnout of voters and the results in custody of their agents.

He said that the party would challenge the results through legal means.

Meanwhile, earlier reported that Governor Benedict Ayade of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) was re-elected as governor of Cross River for the next four years.

Announcing the result on Sunday, March 10 in Calabar, the Cross River state capital, the state returning officer, Professor Akim Ibhadode said, Ayade won the election with 381,484 votes.

The All Progressive Congress (APC) scored 131,161 votes while Social Democratic Party (SDP) had 4,818 votes. ( -> Same great journalism, upgraded for better service!

Protect your vote to make it count - PDP Guber Candidate | Legit TV

Source: News

Mailfire view pixel