How many countries call their Vatican ambassadors Apostolic Nuncio

How many countries call their Vatican ambassadors Apostolic Nuncio

An Apostolic nuncio is a permanent diplomatic representative (head of diplomatic mission) of the Holy See to a state or to one of two international intergovernmental organizations.

The head of the Apostolic Nunciature is called a nuncio, an ecclesiastical diplomatic title.

An Apostolic Nunciature is a top-level diplomatic mission of the Holy See, which is equivalent to an embassy, however, it does not issue visas nor does it have consulates.

The nuncio is first in the order of precedence among all the diplomats accredited to the country, and he speaks for the diplomatic corps in matters of diplomatic privilege and protocol.

How many countries call their Vatican ambassadors Apostolic Nuncio
Pope Francis and His Excellency George Johannes, Ambassador of South Africa to the Holy See. Photo credit: Google

In addition, the nuncio serves as the liaison between the Holy See and the Church in that particular nation, supervising the diocesan episcopate.

The office where the Apostolic Nuncio exercises his diplomatic mission is called Apostolic Nunciature especially when a story concerns Vatican dealings with the church in a country, rather than diplomatic dealings with the country itself (Embassy of the Holy See).

Read also

A general goes home: Tears as prominent Nigerian pastor dies at 78

Below are countries that call their ambassadors Apostolic Nuncio:

1. Armenian Embassy in Vatican

2. Australian Embassy in Vatican

3. Beninese Embassy in Vatican

4. Bolivian Embassy in Vatican

5. Bosnian Embassy in Vatican

6. Brazilian Embassy in Vatican

7. Bulgarian Embassy in Vatican

8. Cameroonian Embassy in Vatican

9. Egyptian Embassy in Vatican, Vatican

10. Salvadoran Embassy in Vatican, Vatican

11. French Embassy in Rome, Vatican

12. Georgian Embassy in Vatican City, Vatican

13. German Embassy in Vatican City, Vatican

14. Greek Consulate in Vatican, Vatican

15. Hungarian Embassy in Roma, Vatican

16. Iraqi Embassy in Vatican City, Vatican

17. Israeli Embassy in Vatican, Vatican

18. Monegasque Embassy in Rome, Vatican

19. Moroccan Embassy in Vatican, Vatican

20. Polish Embassy in Roma, Vatican

21. Romanian Consulate in Vatican City, Vatican

READ ALSO: Pope Francis appoints a Nigerian as apostolic nuncio to Ireland

However there about fifteen countries with whom the Holy See does not have relations with (They do not have Apostolic Nuncio).

Read also

Just in: UK envoy to Nigeria meets APC leader Tinubu in Lagos (photo)

They are: Afghanistan, Saudi Arabia, Brunei, Comoros, the Maldives, Mauritania, Oman, Somalia, Democratic People's Republic of Korea, Lao People's Democratic Republic,

Others include People's Republic of China, and Socialist Republic of Vietnam, Bhutan, Burma, and Tuvalu.

Source: Legit

Online view pixel