Gernot Rohr invites Anayo Iwuala, Ikechukwu Ezenwa, 23 other NPFL stars for Mexico friendly

Gernot Rohr invites Anayo Iwuala, Ikechukwu Ezenwa, 23 other NPFL stars for Mexico friendly

  • No fewer than 25 home-based Super Eagles stars have been called up for the friendly game against Mexico on July 4
  • Goalkeeper Ikechukwu Ezenwa is back on the team after missing out on the national team's last few outings
  • Meanwhile, only 22 players will make the final shortlist that will depart for the United States for the encounter next month

PAY ATTENTION: Join Telegram channel! Never miss important updates!

Nigeria's technical adviser Gernot Rohr has invited 25 Nigeria Professional Football League stars for the international friendly game against Mexico next month.

Enyimba's duo John Noble and Anayo Iwuala top the list of home-based stars for the game billed for the Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum in California, the United States on July 3.

This is part of the Mexican’s MexTour Series that will see them play three matches before facing off with the Super Eagles.

Read also

Lagos LG poll: PDP finally unveils flagbearers for chairmanship elections

Gernot Rohr invites Anayo Iwuala, Ikechukwu Ezenwa, 23 other NPFL stars for Mexico friendly
Gernot Rohr watching his players during one of Nigeria's home games.
Source: Original

Also in the list of invited players are Rivers’ United defender Ifeanyi Anaemena, Enyimba FC midfielder Ekundayo Ojo and forwards Ibrahim Olawoyin (Rangers International) and Stephen Jude (Kwara United).

PAY ATTENTION: Click “See First” under the “Following” tab to see News on your Facebook News Feed!

Meanwhile, the players are expected to arrive at the Serob Legacy Hotel, Abuja on Tuesday, 22nd June with their travel documents, while only 22 of them will travel to the United States for the friendly.

According to information released by the NFF's communications department, the match which will kick off at 7.30 pm LA time will be the sixth confrontation between the senior teams of both countries, four of which have ended in draws.

The only win in the series has gone to Mexico, when they trumped a US Gold Cup encounter in Dallas (State of Texas) 2-1 on 24th June 1995.

Read also

Osun 2022: Oyetola's reelection gets major boost as ex-speaker Etteh, APC chieftains endorse governor


Ikechukwu Ezenwa (Heartland FC); John Noble (Enyimba FC)


Olisa Ndah (Akwa United); Adekunle Adeleke (Abia Warriors); Tope Olusesi (Rangers International); Ifeanyi Anaemena (Rivers United); Christopher Nwaeze (Kwara United); Enyinnaya Kazie (Rivers United); Mohammed Zirkiflu (Plateau United); Imoh Ubot (Enyimba FC); Tebo Franklin Degaulle (Nasarawa United); Lawal Oriyomi Murtala (Kwara United)


Anthony Shimaga (Rangers International); Seth Mayi (Akwa United); Uche Nwasonaya (Plateau United); Samuel Nnoshiri (Katsina United); Ekundayo Ojo (Enyimba FC)


Anayo Iwuala (Enyimba FC); Stephen Jude (Kwara United); Ibrahim Olawoyin (Rangers International); Charles Ashimene (Akwa United); Chinonso Ezekwe (Rangers International); Auwalu Ali Malam (Kano Pillars); Neurot Emmanuel (Plateau United); Abdulmutalif Sanusi (Katsina United) earlier reported that Super Eagles will head to Cameroon for the Africa Cup of Nations next year by boat according to an official of the Lagos state government.

It was gathered plans are underway to ensure the team travel by the waterways to the neighbouring country for the biennial competition.

In a chat with newsmen on Tuesday, June 15, the managing director of the Lagos State Ferry Services Abdoulbaq Balogun said the idea was conceived following the success recorded when the team traveled to Benin Republic for a qualifying match in March.

Source: Legit

Online view pixel