EndSARS: 6 officers killed in Oyo violence, stations burnt as police arrest criminals

EndSARS: 6 officers killed in Oyo violence, stations burnt as police arrest criminals

- Nine criminals have been arrested in Oyo by the state police command with various exhibits

- CP Joe Enwonwu made this known, adding that during the violent EndSARS protest, 5 police stations were burnt by hoodlums

- Enwonwu also disclosed that six police officers were killed while patrol vehicles were also damaged and destroyed

PAY ATTENTION: Win a prize of N115,000, N75000 or N38000: participate in Big Naija Independence contest by Legit.ng

Oyo police command on Wednesday, October 28, stated that it has arrested nine suspected thugs and arsonists over their alleged role in the wanton destruction and looting of properties in the state.

In a statement by the command's public relation officer, SP Olugbenga Fadeyi, the state police commissioner, Joe Nwachukwu Enwonwu, noted that the EndSARS protest was hijacked, thus the violence and vandalism that trailed the demonstration.

Speaking in Iseyin during a public briefing with residents of the community, the traditional council and necessary stakeholders, CP Enwonwu disclosed that six police officers were "gruesomely murdered" during the violence-ridden protest.

Read also

EndSARS: Ex-lawmaker, PDP chieftains arraigned in Ekiti for alleged arson

EndSARS: 6 officers killed in Oyo violence, stations burnt as police name 9 arsonists
Nine criminal looters have been arrested by the Oyo state police command. Credit: Legit/Insideoyo
Source: UGC

He further stated that five divisional police stations were burnt during the bedlam that engulfed Oyo state while numerous police patrol vehicles were also damaged and destroyed.

While urging parents to warn their wards, the police boss emphasised that President Muhammadu Buhari is committed to police reform and the demand of the protesters.

Enwonwu stated that following intelligence gathering, nine criminal looters and arsonists have been arrested with some exhibits recovered from them.

"Upon interrogations, the suspects confessed to the crimes and also gave useful information that will lead to the arrest of other hoodlums who participated in the criminal looting."

He gave the names of the suspects as Sikiru Aliyu (25), Fasasi Fatai Lemon (24), Isiaka Olaniyi (32), Raheem Toheeb (28) and Adeleke Akeem (42).

Others are Taoreed Hamzat (26), Tajudeen Ibrahim (40), Moshood Fatai Elewure (39), Musibau Abubakar Stainless (21).

PAY ATTENTION: Install our latest app for Android, read best news on Nigeria’s #1 news app

Read also

6 officers, 4 civilians killed, 16 stations burnt as police reveal names of casualties, assets vandalised (full list)

Meanwhile, Legit.ng reported that Ogun state is finally set on the path of peace as Akibu Tikare, a notorious and highly-wanted cult leader was arrested by the operatives of the Nigeria Police Force (NPF).

Tikare, who is alleged to be the head of the Eiye confraternity, met his waterloo during a robbery operation in Ogijo, Sagamu local government area.

DSP Abimbola Oyeyemi who is the police public relations officer of the Ogun state command made this known in a statement on Tuesday, October 27, adding that Tikare has been terrorising the state for years.

Buhari, EndSARS now - Abuja protesters cry | - on Legit TV

Source: Legit.ng

Online view pixel