Breaking: Kayode Fayemi of APC wins Ekiti election

Breaking: Kayode Fayemi of APC wins Ekiti election

Kayode Fayemi of the All Progressives Democratic Party (APC) has won the Ekiti state gubernatorial elections.

The former minister and ex-governor defeated Professor Olusola Eleka, the current deputy governor of Ekiti state and the anointed candidate of Governor Ayodele Fayose.

READ ALSO: Results are being manipulated - PDP candidate Olusola Eleka alleges

From the results of the 16 local government areas in the state, Fayemi defeated Prof. Kolapo Olusola in 12 LGAs.

Breaking: Kayode Fayemi of APC wins Ekiti election

Dr Kayode Fayemi casting his vote at his polling unit

The APC candidate polled 197,459 votes while his closest rival had 178,121 votes, a margin of 19,338. Olusola won in only Efon Alaye, Emure, Ikere and Ado-Ekiti.

The results of the election was announced by collation officers in all the local government areas at the office of the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) in Ado-Ekiti, the state capital.

The resident electoral commission (REC) in Ekiti, Idowu Olayinka, vice chancellor of the University of Ibadan and returning officer of the election, are currently putting finishing touches to the exercise ahead of the declaration of the winner.

Meanwhile, had earlier reported that the APC candidate won in seven of the eight local government areas where results have been announced by relevant electoral officials.

READ ALSO: Police fault Fayose over alleged compromise of Ekiti governorship poll

Fayemi, from the result collated at the local governments, has won in Ilejemeje (4153 to 3937), Moba (11837 to 8520), Irepodun-Ifelodun (13,869 to 11,456), Oye (14,995 to 11,271), Ido-Osi (12,342 to 11,145), Ijero (14,192 to 11,077) and Gbonyin (11,498 to 8,027).

Ekiti 2018: Residents reveal who will win the governorship election| TV


Mailfire view pixel