APC Defeats PDP, Wins 15 Chairmanship Seats in Kaduna LGA Elections

APC Defeats PDP, Wins 15 Chairmanship Seats in Kaduna LGA Elections

  • The All Progressives Congress has recorded a landslide victory in the just concluded local government elections in Kaduna state
  • The ruling party, APC won 15 of the 17 chairmanship seats, as results have been declared while the opposition PDP won the remaining two seats
  • Meanwhile, the polls were postponed in four of the state’s 23 local government areas to Saturday, September 25, following security issues in the state

Again, the opposition party has suffered a major blow as the All Progressives Congress (APC), won the majority of the chairmanship and councillorship seats in the local government council elections held in Kaduna state on Saturday, September 4.

Premium Times reported that the ruling party won 15 of the 17 chairmanships seats whose results have so far been declared, while the opposition party, the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) won the other two.

The polls were postponed in four of the state’s 23 local government areas to September 25 over security concerns.

APC wins big, humbles PDP with 15 Chairmanship seats in Kaduna LGA Elections
The ruling party, APC has defeated the PDP as they won 15 Chairmanship seats in the Kaduna LGA Elections, conducted recently. Photo credit: Nasir El-Rufai
Source: Facebook

Nasir El-Rufai loses polling unit to PDP

An initial sensation was recorded when the PDP won in Governor Nasir El-Rufai’s Unguwan Sarki polling unit in Kaduna North LGA.

PAY ATTENTION: Install our latest app for Android, read best news on Nigeria’s #1 news app

El-Rufai, a member of the All Progressive Congress (APC), had earlier voted at the polling unit where he also declared that he is not desperate to win at all costs but to improve the voting process using the electronic voting machine.

However, the APC rallied to win the chairmanship and most of the councillorship seats in the council.

The PDP picked its two chairmanship seats in Jana and Kaura local government areas of the state.

Recall that Alhaji Mohammed Usman of All Progressives Congress was declared winner of the Sabon Gari Local Government Council chairmanship election, The Punch report indicates.

The returning officer, Malam Abubakar-Mohammed Sadiq, announced the outcome of the election on Sunday, September 5, in Sabon Gari, Zaria.

PDP defeats APC, wins Jaba chairmanship seat as results from Kaduna LGA elections trickle in

Earlier, Phillip Gwada, the chairmanship candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) in the Jaba local government area of Kaduna state, has been declared the winner.

It was reported that the Kaduna State Independent Electoral Commission declared Gwada, PDP as the winner of the chairmanship elections held on Saturday, September 4.

Legit.ng gathered that the returning officer, Professor Peter Omale, made the declaration on Monday, September 6, at the state electoral body's office in Kwoi.

Kaduna LGA Elections: Nasir El-Rufai Loses Polling Unit to PDP

Source: Legit.ng

Online view pixel