2019 election: Senator Urhoghide re-elected in Edo

2019 election: Senator Urhoghide re-elected in Edo

Senator Matthew Urhoghide of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) has been declared the winner of Edo South senatorial district in the National Assembly election held on Saturday, February 23.

The Nation reports that Urhoghide polled 135,588 to defeat his All Progressives Congress (APC) opponent, Patrick Obahiagbon.

Joseph Osewankhae, the Independent National Electoral Commission returning officer, for the poll, who declared Urhoghide the winner in Benin on Tuesday, February 26, announced that Obahiagbon scored 121,957.

READ ALSO: APC faults presidential election result in Akwa Ibom

Meanwhile, Legit.ng had reported that Atiku Abubakar of the PDP, narrowly won the presidential election in Edo state with 7849 votes more than his main rival, President Buhari.

The state collation officer for the presidential election, Ndowa Lale, announced at the INEC headquarters in Benin that Atiku scored 275,691 votes, while Buhari of the APC scored 267,842 votes.

However, Buhari beat Atiku in the number of councils won. He won in 10 while Atiku won in eight.

Lale who is the vice-chancellor of the University of Port-Harcourt, said the total number of registered voters in state was 2,150,127 while the total number of accredited voters was 604,915.

READ ALSO: Follow Live updates: INEC begins official declaration of presidential election results

He noted that the number of valid votes was 560,711 while 38,517 votes were rejected. He further said the total number of votes cast was 599,228.

NAIJ.com (naija.ng) -> Legit.ng: Same great journalism, upgraded for better service!

2019 Election: Nigerians reveal what Buhari did to them| Legit TV:

Source: Legit

Mailfire view pixel