Lagos State Governorship Election Tribunal Delivers Judgment: Live Updates

Lagos State Governorship Election Tribunal Delivers Judgment: Live Updates

Lagos - Today, Monday, September 25, the Lagos State Governorship Election Petition Tribunal will deliver its judgment regarding the petition filed by the PDP and Labour Party.

The governorship candidates of the LP, Gbadebo Rhodes-Vivour, and his counterpart in the Peoples Democratic Party, Olajide Adediran, popularly known as Jandor, are challenging the victory of Governor Babajide Sanwo-Olu of the All Progressives Congress (APC) in the election that took place on March 18.

Lagos State Governorship Election/Tribunal Delivers Judgment/Sanwo-Olu-Rhodes-Vivour-Jandor
The Lagos State Governorship Election Tribunal is set to deliver judgment on the PDP and LP petitions challenging Governor Sanwo-Olu's victory. Photo credits: @GRVlagos, @sikimark, @jidesanwoolu
Source: Twitter

Follow as we bring you live updates of the judgment proceedings.

Tribunal dismisses PDP, Jandor's petitions against APC, Sanwo-Olu

The tribunal has dismissed Jandor's petitions.

Justice Abdullahi announced the decision while delivering judgment on the objections raised by the respondents in the case.

The Nation reported that the tribunal declared that Governor Sanwo-Olu and his deputy are eminently qualified to contest the March 18 governorship election in the state under section 177 of the Constitution.

Justice Abdullahi noted that they are members of political parties and educated up to the school certificate level.

Both justices Arum Ashom and Igho Braimoh concurred.

Tribunal says Sanwo-Olu, Hamzat ticket inseparable

The tribunal said the governorship ticket of Sanwo-Olu and that of his deputy, Hamzat are one ticket and inseparable.

Justice Abdullahi said this issue has been decided in a number of cases and went on to hold that a deputy governor and governor are not separate candidates.

The tribunal also held that they are not required to pay a separate security deposit.

Read the details here.

Tribunal dismisses APC’s preliminary objection against PDP

The tribunal has dismissed the APC's preliminary objection which asked the court to dismiss the PDP's petition.

The preliminary objection was dismissed because the petitioner did not comply with provisions of the Electoral Act about payment of security as to cost, according to The Punch.

Justice Abdullahi who read some preliminary motions challenging the competence of some aspects of the petition, dismissed the objection.

Read the details here.

Tribunal strikes out Rhodes-Vivour, LP from Jandor’s petition

The tribunal has struck out the petition filed by Rhodes-Vivour and the Labour Party from that of PDP's Jandor.

Justice Mikhail Abdullah stated this while delivering judgment in the objections raised by respondents in the matter.

Read the details here.

PDP's petitions to be heard first

The chairman of the panel, Justice Arum Ashom, announced that the court will first deliver judgment in the case of the PDP and its candidate Jandor before that of Rhodes-Vivour.

Justice Ashom also announced that his colleague on the bench, Justice Mikail Abdullahi, will read the judgment on behalf of the panel.

Security beefed up

Security has been beefed up at the Roseline Omotosho Courthouse, Ikeja, the venue of the tribunal.

Security operatives took over the main entrance of the courthouse, screening journalists, lawyers and others before they could gain entrance, according to NAN. gathers that they prevented a number of people from entering the premises.

The tribunal panel is led by Justice Arum Ashom.

Lagos APC chairman arrives tribunal

The APC chairman in Lagos state, Pastor Cornelius Ojelabi, Rtd AIG Hakeem Odumosu, and other party chieftains and journalists are seated in the courtroom.

Lagos deputy governor arrives tribunal

Lagos state deputy governor, Obafemi Hamzat, has arrived at the tribunal. Gboyega Akosile, Governor Sanwo-Olu's chief press secretary, disclosed this.

Lagos tribunal judgment: Jandor’s petition against Sanwo-Olu's victory

Olajide Adediran, aka Jandor, wants the tribunal to disqualify Sanwo-Olu and Rhodes-Vivour in the election for alleged non-compliance with the Electoral Act 2022 and the guidelines of the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC).

He claimed that the APC did not comply with the INEC timetable and schedule of activities for the 2023 general election, which stipulated that all political parties must give 21 days’ notice to INEC before the conduct of their primaries.

Jandor further alleged that the APC also failed to comply with the requirement of the Electoral Act 2022, which states that every political party sponsoring a candidate in the general election shall submit the nomination form of such candidate(s) not later than 180 days before the conduct of the general election in forms EC9.

Additionally, he alleged Governor Sanwo-Olu failed to attach a copy of the GCE O’Level result he claimed to have sat for in 1981 along with his form EC9 as required by the Electoral Act 2022.

Jandor wants the court to disqualify Rhodes-Vivour over alleged non-compliance of the LP with the requirements of the Electoral Act in the conduct of the primary election that produced the candidate.

He alleged Rhodes-Vivour was still a member of the PDP as of 18 June 2022, when he claimed under oath to have registered as a member of the LP.

Lagos tribunal judgment: Rhodes-Vivour’s petition against Sanwo-Olu's victory

Rhodes-Vivour wants the tribunal to sack Sanwo-Olu based on alleged non-qualification and claims of corrupt practices or non-compliance with the provisions of the Electoral Act 2022.

The Labour Party governorship candidate claimed that Governor Sanwo-Olu was not duly elected by a majority of the lawful votes cast at the election.

He is also challenging the eligibility of Sanwo-Olu's deputy, Obafemi Hamzat.

Rhodes-Vivour claimed that Hamzat renounced his Nigerian citizenship and swore allegiance to the United States.

INEC is the first respondent in the petition, while Sanwo-Olu and his deputy are listed as the second and third respondents, respectively. The APC is listed as the fourth respondent.

Lagos governorship election 2023: Summary of the results

Ahead of the commencement of the judgment proceedings, here is a summary of the results of the 2023 governorship election in Lagos state as announced by INEC.

  • Babajide Sanwo-Olu (APC) - 762,134 votes
  • Gbadebo Rhodes-Vivour (LP) - 312,329 votes
  • Olajide Adediran, aka Jandor (PDP) - 62,449 votes
  • Total accredited voters - 1,182,620
  • Total valid votes - 1,155,678 votes
Online view pixel