Nigeria land mass by state

Nigeria land mass by state

Want to know everything about Nigeria states land mass? Then this article can become a source of extremely valuable information for you. Read on to find out what are the smallest and the largest states in Nigeria by land mass.

Nigeria land mass by state

Land mass of Nigeria

The Federal Republic of Nigeria is divided into States (36 in total) and Federal Capital Territory. All the states in turn comprise 774 Local Government Areas. Unofficially, Nigerian states consist of 6 zones:

Nigeria land by state

South-West zone

Lagos, Ekiti, Ogun, Ondo, Osun, Oyo.

South zone

Akwa-Ibom, Bayelsa, Cross river, Delta, Edo, Rivers.

South-East zone

Abia, Anambra, Ebonyi, Aguno, Imo.

North-West zone

Kaduna, Kano, Katsina, Jigawa, Kebbi, Sokoto, Zamfara.

North-Central zone

Benue, Kogi, kwara, Nasarawa, Niger, Plateau.

North-East zone

Adamawa, Bauchi, Borno, Gombe, Tarab and Yobe.

The capital of Nigeria is Abuja, it has the status of Federal capital territory, though, it doesn’t belong to any state.

After independence, which was reached in 1960, Nigeria had only three regions, for instance, Northern (with the centre in Kaduna and Hausa as a main dominated nation), West (its centre is located in Ibadan, it is mainly populated by the Yoruba nation) and East (the centre is situated in Enugu, main nations which occupy this territory are Igbo, Edo (Bini) and Ibibio).

Read also

Breaking: Unknown gunmen attack residence of Lagos governor's aide, Joe Igbokwe, set it on fire

READ ALSO: Major types of vegetation in Nigeria

1967 was the time of changes - the region was transformed to 12 States. With years the number of states was increasing much faster than earlier, so consequently there appeared 36 states.


Nigeria land mass

The smallest state in Nigeria by land mass is Lagos

Lagos state land mass

It is located on the shores of the Gulf of Benin and Lagos lagoon, the city covers almost the entire territory of the eponymous state. Administratively it consists of a huge number of areas which are scattered at large distances and are connected by highways. It is the largest industrial and commercial center of West Africa. Despite the fact that it is the smallest state in Nigeria by land mass, Lagos state has the greatest density of population all over Nigeria. So, the state is overpopulated. Lagos land mass reaches 3 345 km.

Read also

Full list of proposed private universities awaiting FG’s final approval and their locations

Nigeria STATES

The second smallest state in Nigeria is Anambra

Anambra is a state in southern Nigeria. One of the smallest state in Nigeria by land mass (35th place out of 36). Administrative center of the state is the city of Awka. The major cities are Onitsha and Nnewi. The state is named in honour of the river Anambra.

Kano land mass

Nigeria land mass state

Kano is the second most crowded state of Nigeria, the economic hub of the Northern part of the country, a major trading centre of cotton, cattle and peanuts. Kano is famous for extremely high-quality leather: dyed goatskin is sold in North Africa, and thence is taken to Europe, where such materials are called Moroccan leather. Kano state land mass is 20 131 km2.

Kwara state land mass

Nigeria land mas

Kwara — is one of the 36 states of Nigeria. The state capital is the city of Ilorin which is situated 306 km to the northeast of Lagos and 500km southwest of Abuja. Kwara state land mass is 36 825 km2. In comparison to other states, Kwara occupies 9th place in the list of the largest states in Nigeria by land mass.

Read also

Lai Mohammed: Buhari is doing well for Nigeria with dwindling revenues

Ibadan land mass


Ibadan is a city which is located in South — West Nigeria. The administrative center of Ibadan state is Oyo state. Ibadan is the third largest city in the country in terms of population after Lagos and Kano. The number of population is more than 2.5 million residents. It is mostly inhabited by Yoruba nation.

Land mass of Abuja


Abuja was made Nigeria's capital on the 12th of December in 1991. Before that time the capital of Nigeria was Lagos. Abuja is located just 800 km to the North from the location of a former capital. Abuja is the seat of the President and the government, political-administrative and cultural center of the country. The decision to move the capital from Lagos was made in 1976, Lagos, the former capital of Nigeria, remains the major economic center of the country.

The city's population reaches 778 567 inhabitants. Abuja is situated within the area of Federal Capital Territory. Abuja land mass is 1,769 km2.

Read also

Akwa Ibom governor commissions new roads, general hospital to mark state's 33rd anniversary

Ogbomoso land mass

Nigeria state

Ogbomosho is a city located in Oyo state, in the South West region of Nigeria. Ogbomosho is notable for its highway A1 which goes through the city.

The largest state in Nigeria by land mass

Niger state

Niger State is a state located in Central part of Nigeria. It is the largest state in Nigeria by land mass and 13th most populous state in Nigeria. Administrative center of the state — the city is Minna. Niger state land mass is 76 363 km2.

READ ALSO: Geopolitical zones in Nigeria and their states


Online view pixel