List of 5 Nigerian Politicians Who Are Past Governors of Anambra Since 1999

List of 5 Nigerian Politicians Who Are Past Governors of Anambra Since 1999

On Saturday, November 6, 2021, the good people Anambra state would decide who succeeds Governor Willie Obiano, with their votes.

Interestingly, Anambra is one of the states in the south eastern region, at 4,844 km² the second smallest state by landmass in Nigeria.

The state boasts of one of the largest galaxy of Igbo stars in the country; from politics to business to academia.

When Nigeria returned to civil rule in 1999 after 16 years military rule, Anambra voted with the rest of the country. It’s few days to the governorship election in the state, the race gets tougher as political parties and top contenders are all set to take the stage, but let’s go down memory lane; there are politicians in Anambra state who has had a fair share of power and are still active in the state and in government.

Read also

Gunmen on rampage in Anambra state, kill 4 Policemen at Oraifite community compiled a list of past governors of the state who served in Anambra and some are still active in the polity.

Below are the names of the governors, political parties and the period they served;

Chinwoke Mbadinuju

Egbilika Josiah
Chinwoke Mbadinuju was the first governor of Anambra state 16 years after military rule. Photo credit: Chinwoke Mbadinuju
Source: Facebook

PAY ATTENTION: Subscribe to Digital Talk newsletter to receive must-know business stories and succeed BIG!

Chinwoke Mbadinuju was the former governor of Anambra state that served between 1999 and 2003 under the platform of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP). He lost his bid for a second term following the intrigues that characterised the primaries of his former party, PDP.

Mbadinuju is now a member of the ruling APC.

Chris Ngige

Dr Chris Ngige
Senator Chris Ngige is currently the Minister of Labour and Productivity, Federal Republic of Nigeria. Photo credit: Senator Chris Ngige
Source: Facebook

Chris Nwabueze Ngige was born on 8thof August 1952, in Alor, Idemili south Local Government Area of Anambra state.

Dr. Chris Nwabueze Ngige was governor of Anambra state from May 29, 2003 through March 17, 2006 under the People Democratic Party (PDP).

Read also

Anambra election: Vital information you need to know about the poll

He was elected Senator for Anambra Central Constituency in April 2011. He ruled the state from the year 2003 through 2006 under the platform of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP).

He is currently a member of the All Progressives Congress (APC) and the Minister of Labour and Employment.

Peter Obi

Mr. Peter Obi
Peter Obi served the good people of Anambra taste for two term. Photo credit: Mr. Peter Obi
Source: Facebook

Peter Gregory Obi is a politician and a successful businessman. He is a former governor of Anambra state who served for two terms. During his first term as governor, he was impeached in November 2006 but was reinstated in February 2007.

Virginia Etiaba

Virginia Etiaba
She is the first female governor in Nigeria's history. Photo credit: Okey Obiabunmo, Egbilika Josiah
Source: Facebook

Dame Virginia Ngozi Etiaba (CON), born on November 11, 1942. She was the governor of Anambra state from November 2006 to February 2007.

Appointed when peter Obi was impeached by the state legislature for gross misconduct, she transferred power back to Peter Obi three month later when an appeal court nullified the impeachment.

She ruled under the umbrella of APGA and had remarkable achievements that contributed to the milestone her tenure as deputy governor and governor made.

Read also

Anambra governorship election 2021: 4 reasons why APGA candidate Charles Soludo may win

Willie Obiano

Governor Willie Obiano
List of 5 Nigerian politicians who are past governors of Anambra since 1999. Photo credit: Chief Willie Obiano
Source: Facebook

In November 2013, Willie Obiano became the governor of Anambra state, having successfully contested for the position under the platform of the All Progressive Grand Alliance (APGA).

Willie Obiano is a native of Aguleri in Anambra East Local Government Area of Nigeria. He was born on August 8, 1957.

His tenure would end come 2022, but the people of Anambra state would decide who succeeds Obiano on Saturday, November 6.

It is important to note that Anambra state has had five governors from two political parties, the All Progressives Grand Alliance (APGA) and the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP).

INEC begins distribution of sensitive materials to 21 LGAs in Anambra

Meanwhile, had earlier reported that the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has commenced the distribution of sensitive materials for Saturday, November 6 governorship election in Anambra.

The electoral umpire commenced the distribution to the 21 local government areas of the state, can report.

The INEC team are currently in the premises of the Central Bank of Nigeria (CBN) distributing the materials to the LGAs.


Online view pixel