BREAKING: Tension as Imo Assembly Impeaches Deputy Speaker

BREAKING: Tension as Imo Assembly Impeaches Deputy Speaker

  • The deputy speaker of the Imo state House of Assembly, Amara Iwuanyanwu, has been removed at the plenary
  • Iwuanyanwu's removal follows the submission of a resolution to that effect signed by 18 out of the 27 lawmakers
  • Meanwhile, the speaker of the House, Paul Emezim, also announced the recall of six suspended lawmakers

Owerri, Imo state - Amara Iwuanyanwu, the deputy speaker of the Imo state House of Assembly, has been impeached.

The Punch reported that Iwuanyanwu was removed under tight security during the plenary on Tuesday, November 2.

Imo Assembly Impeaches Deputy Speaker Amara Iwuanyanwu
The Deputy Speaker of the Imo state House of Assembly, Amara Iwuanyanwu, has been removed. Photo credit: Imo House of Assembly
Source: Facebook gathers that Ekene Nnodim, the lawmaker who represents Orlu state constituency, submitted a resolution signed by 18 out of the 27 lawmakers for the removal of Iwuanyanwu as the deputy speaker.

The speaker, Paul Emezim, who presided over the plenary, subsequently approved the removal of Iwuanyanwu.

Read also

10 APC chieftains who might be appointed as replacements for outgoing ministers

PAY ATTENTION: Install our latest app for Android, read best news on Nigeria’s #1 news app

Six lawmakers reinstated

Meanwhile, the House of Assembly also recalled six suspended lawmakers of the state legislature.

The recall came four months after the lawmakers were suspended over alleged “unparliamentary conduct”.

The suit filed by the suspended lawmakers to challenge their suspension was later struck out by a court in Owerri, the state capital.

However, the lawmakers' lawyer, Kingdom Okere, said the suit was struck out after his clients and the House of Assembly leadership had reached a consensus.

The lawmakers included Kennedy Ibe (Obowo); Onyemaechi Njoku (Ihitte Uboma); Uche Ogbuagu (Ikeduru); Anyadike Nwosu (Ezinihitte Mbaise); Philip Ejiogu, (Owerri North); and Dominic Ezerioha (Oru West).

Confusion in Plateau state as lawmakers impeach speaker at 6am

In a related development, the Speaker of the Plateau State House Assembly, Hon Abok Ayuba Nuhu, has been impeached.

Read also

List of Nigerian governors who have unveiled their anointed successors

The impeached speaker was swiftly replaced with Sanda Yakubu, who hails from the Pingana constituency of Bassa local government area of the state.

It was gathered that eight lawmakers (not 16 as reported by another news media) out of the 24-member assembly that carried out the impeachment.

Drama in Plateau as police arrest impeached speaker, 10 assembly members

Meanwhile, the crisis brewing in the Plateau State House of Assembly following the impeachment of Ayuba on Monday, November 1, took a different turn.

The embattled speaker and 10 lawmakers loyal to him were whisked away by security agents. It was gathered that Edward Ebuka, Plateau commissioner of police around 3.15 pm led the 11 members of the Assembly to four awaiting Hilux vehicles before they were taken away.

Hon Zingtin Sohchang, a member representing Langtang South confirmed the development saying they were being bungled into four vehicles by security men to yet to be ascertained place.


Online view pixel