LG Poll: Lagos APC Electoral Appeal Committee Submits Reports, Recommends Consensus Process

LG Poll: Lagos APC Electoral Appeal Committee Submits Reports, Recommends Consensus Process

  • The electoral appeal committee set up by the Lagos chapter of the All Progressives Congress (APC) has submitted its report
  • Tunde Balogun, the state party chairman, said that the committee received 125 petitions over its recently held primaries conducted at local governments
  • Balogun, however, urged the aggrieved members to sheath their swords and accept the outcome of the appeal in good faith

PAY ATTENTION: Join Legit.ng Telegram channel! Never miss important updates!

The Lagos state APC electoral appeal committee headed by Lawal Pedro (SAN) has officially submitted its reports to the state chairman of the party, Tunde Balogun.

The state party's spokesman, Seye Oladejo, in a statement issued on Saturday, June 19, and seen by Legit.ng, said the committee which sat for three weeks, entertained 125 petitions resulting from the outcome of the primaries for the forthcoming local government elections across the state.

Read also

2023 presidency: Uncertainty as APC suspends members for supporting Tinubu’s group

Lagos APC electoral appeal committee has submitted its reports.
Lagos state APC chairman, Tunde Balogun, in his left is Lawal Pedro (SAN), next is Akeem Apatira and Ayo Alli-Balogun. Credit: APC
Source: UGC

According to the statement, the chairman of the committee reported that the petitions focused mainly on instances of outright failure to hold primaries for various reasons, a spate of violence and inconclusive procedures.

It further stated that the committee recommended a consensus process, as provided for by the party’s constitution, with emphasis on the participation of all concerned stakeholders.

APC will be guided by LASIEC timetable

He admonished the party to be guided by the LASIEC timelines for the submission of names of candidates for the forthcoming local government elections.

In his remark, the state chairman appreciated the painstaking efforts and the thoroughness of the committee in the discharge of its assignments.

He commended the efforts of the party leadership at the ward, local and state levels to initiate a reconciliation process for the party to approach the coming elections as a United family.

Other members of the committee were Ayo Alli-Balogun-secretary, Alh. Akeem Apatira, Barr. Yemi Adesina and Chief Tajudeen Amusa.

Read also

Anambra guber: Emenike-led APC committee screens 14 aspirants

PAY ATTENTION: Install our latest app for Android, read best news on Nigeria’s #1 news app

Lagos APC releases names of candidates for 20 LGAs, 37 LCDAs poll

Meanwhile, Legit.ng had previously reported that barely one week after the conduct of its primary to elect candidates for the forthcoming local government election, the Lagos state chapter of the APC released the names of the winners.

It was reported that in a statement signed by the state caretaker committee chairman, Tunde Balogun, and the secretary, Lanre Ogunyemi, on Friday, June 4, the names on the list included the chairmen and the vice-chairmen for the 20 local governments and 37 Local Council Development Areas (LCDA) of the state.

The report had it that while Famuyiwa Oladapo David is the party's candidate for Agbado Oke-odo, Ajoke Moromoke Obe will run as his deputy.

Source: Legit.ng

Online view pixel