Buhari Finally Reveals Why APC Lost States in 2019 Elections

Buhari Finally Reveals Why APC Lost States in 2019 Elections

  • President Muhammadu Buhari has officially welcomed Governors Bello Matawalle and Ben Ayade into the APC
  • The two governors who were elected on the platform of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) recently defected to the ruling party
  • Buhari described their defection as a sign that Nigerians have a firm belief in his administration

PAY ATTENTION: Join Legit.ng Telegram channel! Never miss important updates!

Aso Rock, Abuja - President Muhammadu Buhari on Monday, July 12, said the All Progressives Congress (APC) lost some states during the 2019 general elections to the opposition parties because the party subscribed to free, fair and credible polls.

The Nation reports Buhari emphasised that the ruling party lost some states in the last election because of its tolerance and respect for individuals.

Buhari says APC advocates free and fair election
President Muhammadu Buhari welcomed Matawalle to the APC. Credit: Femi Adesina
Source: Facebook

Legit.ng gathered that the president spoke while receiving Governors Ben Ayade (Cross Rivers) and Matawalle (Zamfara) at the Presidential Villa, Abuja.

Read also

Buhari to Ayade, Matawalle: Your people will respect you more for moving to APC

APC believes in a free, fair and credible election

The president noted that the ruling party has respect for Nigerians, hence its subscription to free and fair polls.

Daily Trust also reports that Governor Ayade and Matawalle were accompanied by Yobe governor who is APC’s caretaker committee chairman, Mai Mala Buni; Kebbi governor who is the Progressives Governors Forum (PGF) chairman, Atiku Bagudu and Jigawa governor, Muhammed Badaru Abubakar.

PAY ATTENTION: Install our latest app for Android, read the best news on Nigeria’s #1 news app

Buhari hands over APC flag to Matawalle, Ben Ayade

Meanwhile, Legit.ng had previously reported that President Buhari on Monday, July 12, handed the flags of the APC to the two governors who recently left the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) for the ruling party.

The governors were Ayade of Cross River state, and his Zamfara counterpart, Bello Matawalle.

Read also

Defection: PDP’s legal team to oust Zamfara governor constituted

The special adviser to the president on media and publicity, Femi Adesina, made this known in a statement posted on his Facebook page.

Obaseki says he won't return to APC

In a related report, the governor of Edo state, Godwin Obaseki ruled out the possibility of returning to the APC, following the gale of defection that rocked the PDP in the last few weeks.

Obaseki left the APC in 2020 after he was disqualified from seeking the party’s ticket for re-election.

The governor, however, described rumours making the rounds that he intended to return to the APC as laughable.

Source: Legit.ng

Online view pixel