Beautiful photos of 96-year-old Nigerian secondary school which has produced many professors

- Dennis Memorial Grammar School (DMGS), established in 1925, is one of the oldest schools in Nigeria

- The school which recently clocked 96 has produced many professors and other dignitaries in the country

- Among others, DMGS produced the first Nigerian professor of History, Professor Kenneth Onwuka Dike

PAY ATTENTION: Join Telegram channel! Never miss important updates!

Dennis Memorial Grammar School (DMGS), a prestigious first-generation secondary school in Onitsha, Anambra state, has clocked 96.

The school was established on January 25, 1925.

According to a post on The Nigerian Nostalgia 1960-1980 Project, a Facebook group which collects photographs depicting scenes and people from Nigeria between the mid 19th century and 1980, DMGS has produced many professors in Nigeria.

The school reportedly produced the first Nigerian professor of History, Professor Kenneth Onwuka Dike who allegedly served as Senior Prefect of DMGS (DMGS Class of 1936).

Republic of Vanuatu appoints Nigerian as trade and investment commissioner

DMGS also produced the first Nigerian professor of Mathematics, Prof. James O. C. Ezeilo (DMGS Class of 1948), the first Nigerian professor of Pharmacology, Prof. Gilbert O. Onuaguluchi (DMGS Class of 1944), the second African/Nigerian Principal, Mr Samuel Onochie Ogoaz i(DMGS Class of 1939), the first African/Nigerian Vice-Chancellor, Prof. Kenneth Onwuka Dike (DMGS Class of 1936).

The historic school also reportedly produced the first Nigerian military medical doctor, HRH Igwe. Captain Sir. Dr. Walter C. Eze (DMGS Class of 1945), the first Nigerian geologist, Prince Alexander Okoli (DMGS Class of 1953), the first Nigerian petroleum engineer, Engr. Dr Emmanuel Egbogah (DMGS Class of 1961), the first Igbo man to become an Engineer, Engr. Isaac Iweka (DMGS Class of 1930), among others.

PAY ATTENTION: Install our latest app for Android, read best news on Nigeria’s #1 news app

In other news, the Federal Executive Council (FEC) on Wednesday, February 3, approved 20 new private universities to be cited in different parts of the country.

Breaking: Buhari makes fresh appointments in NIMET, NCAT

The resolution was made after Adamu Adamu, the minister of education presented a memo before the council.

Adamu explained that the newly-established higher institutions are to be given provisional licenses by the National Universities Commission (NUC) to run for three years.

Related news