9 power plants in Nigeria and their reduced mega watts

9 power plants in Nigeria and their reduced mega watts

It is no longer news that Nigeria's power generation is currently in one of its all time low, as the electricity generation recently sank to 1,580MW. 

According to the federal government, the problem is due to vandalism of pipelines by vandals who obstruct the supply gas to power plants.

READ ALSO: Anyone who don’t accept our change mantra will be left behind – Minister

Speaking on the issue, Dr. Anthony Akah, the Chief Executive Officer of the Nigerian Electricity Regulatory Commission (NERC) said: ''Currently, repairs are ongoing on some of the ruptured pipelines and once they are completed, we believe generation will pick up again.''

But Nigerians will have none of these excuses, they are beginning to complain about the poor power supply and the minister of power, works and housing, Babatunde Fashola is at the receiving end of their criticism.

Already, Nigerians are beginning to lose patience with President Muhammadu Buhari over the change promised by the All Progressives Congress (APC)-led administration.

Using the hashtag #ChangeToChains, many took to social media to lament the hardship the people are passing through, especially the persistent fuel scarcity in parts of the country.

Other issues raised were the epileptic power supply, Buhari’s frequent foreign trips, high cost of consumer products, among other pertinent issues.

Legit.ng lists out the nine power plants in Nigeria, and their current mega watts at the moment.

READ ALSO: Currency Crisis: 4 countries experiencing the same challenges as Nigeria

Read below:

1. Olorunshogo National Integrated Power Plant (NIPP) shut-in: 600MW

2. Sapele NIPP shut-in: 112.5MW

3. Omotosho (Gas): 190MW

4. Geregu NIPP: 145MW

5. Delta shut-in: 340MW

6. Omotosho NIPP shut-in: 120MW

7. Egbin shut-in: 440MW

8. Olorunshogo (Gas) shut in: 38MW

9. Odukpani shut-in: 59.1MW


Source: Legit.ng

Mailfire view pixel