Former PDP Chairman, Others Defect To APC

Former PDP Chairman, Others Defect To APC

A former chairman of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) in Borno state, Hon. Kolo Bukar and a former minority leader of the House of Representatives (1999-2003), Hon. Mohammed Kumaila, have defected to the All Progressives Congress (APC).

Others who defected include the former national treasurer of the PDP Alhaji Lawan Kareto, a former PDP House of Reps member Hajia Kaamuna Khadi, and a former PDP House of Reps candidate in the last elections Honourable Muhammed Adamu.

They defected on Wednesday, August 12, alongside scores of their supporters, This Day reports.

They were received by the APC at a ceremony in Maiduguri, the state capital.

READ ALSO: Why Jonathan’s Kinsmen Dumped PDP For APC


Kumaila was member of the All People’s Party (APP), which later metamorphosed into the All Nigeria Peoples Party (ANPP).

In the 2007 general elections he was the gubernatorial candidate of Action Congress (AC). He later joined the PDP where he was a gubernatorial aspirant in 2011.

During the last general elections, he was the north east campaign coordinator of the former president Goodluck Jonathan.

The PDP has continued to lose its members to other parties especially since it lost the 2015 general elections. About a week ago, thousands of aggrieved PDP members dumped the party for the All Progressives Grand Alliance (APGA).

In July, a Borno state PDP chieftain Senator Abba Aji defected to the APC, saying Jonathan was responsible for the failure of the PDP at the general elections.


Mailfire view pixel