2015: Jonathan Kicks Off Campaign

2015: Jonathan Kicks Off Campaign

The presidency has picked holes in the rumors making the rounds that the sack of nine Ministers by President Goodluck Jonathan had political undertones.

Special Adviser to President Goodluck Jonathan on Political Matters, Ahmed Gulak explained that the decision to unseat the ministers was far from being connected with the current crises rocking the ruling Peoples Democratic Party (PDP).

Speaking while inaugurating a 44 member Elders Committee, Gulak at the behest of the Goodluck Support Group (GSG) stated that the unity of the country remained paramount over and above parochial interest of persons or group of individuals in the polity.

According to him: “This is the decision of Mr. President. It is his constitutional power to hire and fire. The ministers were working for Mr. President and it has nothing to do with the PDP misunderstanding and disagreement. I believed that ministers who were relieved of their appointments had already contributed their own quota.

Apparently referring to members of the “New PDP” faction,  Gulak who is the national coordinator of the GSG noted that the PDP-led administration would not be intimidated with the presence of any viable opposition political party.

Charging members of the committee to work assiduously to keep both the PDP and the country at peace, he said: “There are some few people who believe that power must always belong to them and who believe you and me cannot lead this country. But we know that in this country, it is God that decides what he wants. No human being is a partner to God.

Anybody who tries to assert himself above where God has put us in Nigeria’s political development is only dealing with himself.

Power belongs to God. Reacting, former Deputy Senate President, Alhaji Ibrahim Mantu who was one of the Elders assured that with the constitution of the elders committee, the PDP now enmeshed in internal crises would reenact its potency ahead of the 2015 poll.

Among members of the 44 elders committee were former Senate President, Ken Nnamani, Sheik Dan Zangar, Rev Yusuf Turaki, Bishop Thomas Okpor, Maj Gen Patrick Aziza (rtd), Senator Victor Ndoma Egba, Bishop C.N William, Sheik Dahiru Bauchi, Prof Jibril Aminu, Gen Yakubu Usman (rtd), Gen Haladu Hananiya (rtd), Prof Jerry Gana, Dr Olusegun Agagu, Dr Okwesileze Nwodo, Senator Tunde Ogbeha, Chibudom Nwuche, Saidu Umaru Kumo, Chief Innocent Chukwuma, Chief Emmanuel Iwuanyanwu, Senator Adeseye Ogunlewe, Chief Solomon Lar, Alhaji Abba Dabo, Lili Gabari, Senator Ibrahim Mantu, Bode Olajumoke, Prof Jibril Aminu, Senator Umar Hambagda, Alha Musa Liman, Aisha Aliyu Zamfara, Aisha Alhassan, Sam Ode, Senator Ayoola Agboola, Patricia Etteh, Dr Eze Kano and Alhaji Danlkadi Maidugu.

Source: Legit.ng

Online view pixel