PDP Govs Criticize Relocation Of Election Tribunals

PDP Govs Criticize Relocation Of Election Tribunals

The Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) governors forum have expressed their disapproval over the relocation of the Taraba, Rivers and Akwa Ibom states’ election petitions tribunals to Abuja.

The governors disclosed this during their meeting on Tuesday.

Shortly after the meeting started, Dr. Okezie Ikpeazu, Abia State governor said his colleagues were not happy about the relocation of the tribunals.

READ ALSO: How the PDP Gave APC a taste of their own medicine


He said, “We condemn in very strong terms the relocation of election tribunals in Rivers State, Taraba State and Akwa Ibom State to Abuja.”

The PDP governors also expressed their delight at the way former President Goodluck Jonathan conceded defeat and congratulated President Muhammadu Buhari on his election.


They equally congratulated Senator Bukola Saraki, Senator Ike Ekweremadu, Hon. Yakubu Dogara and Hon. Suleiman lasun on their emergence as the senate president, deputy senate president, Speaker, House of Representatives and the deputy speaker respectively.

At the meeting the governors in attendance were, Olusegun Mimiko (Ondo), Okezie Ikpeazu (Abia), Idris Wada (Kogi), Ifeanyi Ugwuanyi (Enugu), Dave Umahi (Ebonyi), Udom Emmanuel (Akwa Ibom) and Darius Ishaku (Taraba).

READ ALSO: PDP To Make Mimiko Chairman Of Governors' Forum

The governor of Bayelsa state was represented at the meeting by his deputy, John Jonah.

Other PDP governors that neither attended nor sent representation were Hassan Dankwambo (Gombe), Ayodele Fayose (Ekiti), Nyesome Wike (River), Ifeanyi Okowa (Delta) and Ben Ayade (Cross River).

Meanwhile the Governor of Ondo State, Olusegun Mimiko at the meeting was elected as the chairman of the forum. Mimiko succeeds the former Governor of Akwa Ibom State, Godswill Akpabio , who is now a senator.

Source: Legit.ng

Mailfire view pixel