Gov Aregbesola's Likely New Cabinet Members Unveiled

Gov Aregbesola's Likely New Cabinet Members Unveiled

There are strong indications that most members of the previous cabinet of the Osun state governor, Ogbeni Rauf Aregbesola, are likely to make the new cabinet thanks to their dismal performance during the governorship election last year.

It was reliably reported that the governor may appoint members of his cabinet after the swearing-in of the president-elect, Muhammadu Buhari, on May 29.

Reports emanating from the state say that most of the cabinet members have no basis at home as they were not popular in their various communities.

"Most of them, after their appointments, became detached from their local base, hence there was heavy resentment against them during the election. We only thank God that we have a popular and overwhelmingly accepted candidate like Ogbeni, if not, the story could have been different," a source told our correspondent in Osogbo.

Investigations in the party circle in Osogbo revealed that of all the members of the previous cabinet, only about seven have a realistic chance of making the new cabinet. The seven are: Wale Bolorunduro, Commissioner for Finance, Budget and Economic Planning in the previous cabinet; Mrs Temitope Ilori, former Commissioner for Health; Arc Muyiwa Ige, ex-Commissioner for Land and Physical Planning; Sunday Akere, previous Commissioner for Information and Strategy; Ajibola Bashiru, Commissioner for Regional Integration and Special Duties in the last cabinet; Bola Ilori, ex-Special Adviser to the Governor on Environment and Alhaji Izamot who was the Special Adviser to the Governor on Health in the previous executive council.

READ ALSO: Osun People Get Warning From Their Governor, Aregbesola

As expected, the governor intends to bring new faces into the new cabinet with the attention focusing mainly on young, energetic and committed professionals who possess the intellect to deliver on the governor's people-oriented programmes.

One of the new names expected in the new cabinet is Alhaji Kazeem Adio, the former secretary to the state government (SSG) in the administration of Prince Olagunsoye Oyinlola,  who is expected to bring in experience and competence gathered during his term as a commissioner and SSG in the state.

Another name being touted is Hon. Lawrence Ayeni, who is bringing into the cabinet, eight-years experience as a lawmaker in Lagos.

A source in the state government disclosed that Governor Aregbesola would re-appoint few of the cabinet members in his first regime.

Another name being touted is Hon. Rotimi Makinde who was defeated in the last National Assembly election.

Also in contention is Hon. Abdullah Adeyanju Binuyo, current senior special assistant to the governor on Milliennium Development Goals.

READ ALSO: Osun Workers Lament Salary Wait

Others being considered are; Hon. Nathaniel Agunbiade, currently a member of the House of Representatives, who lost his re-election bid in the last election to Hon. Wole Oke of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), immediate past Chairman of the state chapter of the All Progressives Congress (APC), Elder Adelowo Adebiyi and the current Executive Secretary of Odo Otin Local Government, Tope Adejumo, has a bright chance of making the list.

It was also learnt that Adejumo has been acting as security adviser to the governor since the ouster of Barrister Amos who was reported to have had an unholy romance with Senator Iyiola Omisore and the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) in the last governorship election. Amos has also been accused of not delivering whenever the governor gave him assignments to give people or organisations money.

Also being considered is Micheal Oluwole Idowu, a young structural engineer who has been acting as the governor's unofficial special adviser on works since the previous cabinet was dissolved and a current member of the Osun State House of Assembly and chairman of the Assembly Committee on Works, Hon. Ojo from Ede.

READ ALSO: Osun Workers Plan To Boycott Workers Day Celebrations

Aregbesola sought re-election for a second term on the platform of the All Progressives Congress (APC) and was declared the winner of the August 9th, 2014 election. Having satisfied the requirement of the law and scored the highest number of votes, he was returned elected for another term of four years.


Khadijah Thabit avatar

Khadijah Thabit (Copyeditor) Khadijah Thabit is an editor with over 3 years of experience editing and managing contents such as articles, blogs, newsletters and social leads. She has a BA in English and Literary Studies from the University of Ibadan, Nigeria. Khadijah joined in September 2020 as a copyeditor and proofreader for the Human Interest, Current Affairs, Business, Sports and PR desks. As a grammar police, she develops her skills by reading novels and dictionaries. Email:

Online view pixel