New Year: Lagos, other states where crossover service is banned

New Year: Lagos, other states where crossover service is banned

Amid mounting scare over the second wave of the deadly COVID-19 infection, many states across the country have banned the traditional crossover service into the new year, dashing the hope of many worshippers who see the custom as a destiny-changing rite.

PAY ATTENTION: Join Telegram channel! Never miss important updates!

Nigeria is currently witnessing a surge in the number of COVID-19 cases, forcing schools, clubs and other important places to shut down.

The Nigeria Centre for Disease Control (NCDC) on Tuesday, December 29, announced 749 new cases of coronavirus with Lagos and Plateau topping the log.

List Of States Where Crossover Service Is Restricted Or Banned
Some states have banned crossover night service over the scare of Coronavirus. Credit: The Cross Believer
Source: UGC

This brings the total number of the cases in the official record of NCDC to 85,560, 71,937 recoveries, with over 1000 deaths.

With the spiralling cases, some states including Lagos and Ogun have banned or restricted a crossover service, a development health experts said can help flatten the curve in January.

Read also

BREAKING: Nigerian state makes surprise U-turn over cross-over service, issues fresh directive

These are the states:

1. Ondo State

The Governor Rotimi Akeredolu-led government issued a statement banning crossover service across the Ondo's 18 local government areas.

The state also warned that offenders will face three months imprisonment or N20,000 fine.

Ondo has 1,811 cases of COVID-19 as at this report.

2. Osun state

Although the decision was later rescinded, the government of Osun state earlier announced a ban on crossover amid COVID-19 scare.

This was contained in a statement on Tuesday, December 29, signed by the commissioner for information and civic orientation, Funke Egbemode.

3. Lagos state

Being the epicentre of the coronavirus infection, Lagos state has placed a ban on the crossover service, all-night services, including vigils.

Earlier, the government shut down schools until further notice and directed all workers from level 12 and below to work from home.

Lagos has 29,184 cases of the deadly disease.

Read also

Wike threatens another lockdown on Rivers in January, gives reasons

4. Ogun state

In a similar move, Governor Dapo Abiodun-led Ogun state government also placed a restriction on the crossover service.

The governor directed that street carnivals be suspended while restricting attendance to crossover services, parties and similar gatherings.

Ogun has 2,457 cases of coronavirus.

5. Kwara state

With 1,414 cases, the Kwara government also imposed a partial lockdown and curfew in the state from 12 midnight to 4:30 am till further notice.

6. Plateau state

Plateau state government did not ban crossover service but only restricted churches to 50% of the capacity.

7. Ekiti state

Although there was no fresh order banning crossover service, Ekiti government directed the law enforcement agents to begin enforcement of COVID-19 protocols on activities in public places.

This includes worship centres, event centres, markets, supermarkets, bars and hotels.

8. Edo state

With 2,852 cases, Governor Godwin Obaseki-led government announced the reintroduction of restrictions in a bid to curb the disease.

Read also

Lagos speaks on reopening of schools, nightclubs, releases 12 guidelines (FULL LIST)

There was no total ban but the state adjusted its curfew from 12 midnight to 4am daily, starting from December 23, except on December 31, 2020.

PAY ATTENTION: Install our latest app for Android, read best news on Nigeria’s #1 news app

9. Federal Capital Territory (FCT)

The Federal Capital Territory (FCT) has ordered that all bars, restaurants, leisure gardens, and event centres be shut for five weeks.

FCT has 11,433 total cases, taking the second slot behind Lagos on the NCDC log.

COVID-19: Is Nigeria ready for another lockdown | Legit TV

Source: Legit

Online view pixel