Robert Lewandowski polls 52 votes ahead of Ronaldo’s 38 to win FIFA’s The Best Award

Robert Lewandowski polls 52 votes ahead of Ronaldo’s 38 to win FIFA’s The Best Award

- Robert Lewandowski has emerged FIFA’s The Best player for the year 2020

- The Bayern Munich sensational striker had 52 votes to win the coveted prize

- Cristiano Ronaldo is second having polled 38 points while Lionel Messi is third with 35

PAY ATTENTION: Click “See First” under the “Following” tab to see News on your Facebook News Feed!

FIFA’s The Best Award in the individual men’s category was won by Bayern Munich legend, Robert Lewandowski, who polled a massive 52 votes to claim the coveted prize on Thursday night, December 17.

The Polish striker scored 55 goals and 10 assists in 47 appearances across all competitions - a feat that put him ahead of any other player in terms of individual awards.

Portugal and Juventus forward Cristiano Ronaldo came second with 38 points, while Barcelona’s Lionel Messi came third with 35 points.

Read also

Lionel Messi ignores arch rival Cristiano Ronaldo as he picks 3 stars for FIFA The Best award

Two Premier League stars follow with Liverpool’s Sadio Mane, 29 and Manchester City’s Kevin De Bruyne, 26 taking the fourth and fifth positions respectively.

Mohamed Salah was voted sixth having garnered 25 points while Kylian Mbappe had 19. Thiago Alcantara 17, Neymar and Virgil van Dijk 13 are other players who made the shortlist.

FIFA The Best Awards – Individual Men’s Category

1. Robert Lewandowski 52

2. Cristiano Ronaldo 38

Robert Lewandowski pulls 52 votes ahead of Ronaldo’s 38 to win FIFA’s The Best Award
Robert Lewandowski is 2020 FIFA player of the year. Photo: Valeriano Di Domenico
Source: Getty Images

3. Lionel Messi 35

4. Sadio Mane 29

5. Kevin de Bruyne 26

6. Mohamed Salah 25

7. Kylian Mbappe 19

8. Thiago Alcantara 17

9. Neymar 16

10. Virgil van Dijk 13

FIFA made the final votes public, giving supporters the chance to find out who their favourite players picked before the ceremony on Thursday.

Lionel Messi ignored Cristiano Ronaldo in his three-man shortlist for The Best FIFA Men's Player of the Year Award having favoured Paris Saint-Germain duo to possibly win it.

Read also

See who Cristiano Ronaldo voted for at FIFA The Best award after he was snubbed by Messi

The Argentine named his former teammate Neymar as well as Kylian Mbappe from the French Ligue 1 side to claim the coveted prize.

Meanwhile, earlier reported that Son Heung Min completed a breathtaking solo run to score a superb goal in Tottenham’s 5-0 thrashing of Burnley in the Premier League in December 2019, a goal that earned him the prestigious Puskas Award.

The 28-year-old picked up the ball right in his side’s half and took on the opponents on his way to scoring the best goal of last season as he claims the coveted prize.

Spurs were already 2-0 ahead courtesy goals from Harry Kane and Lucas Moura as early as the first ten minutes of the fixture.

The amazing strike was well rewarded on a night when FIFA rewarded the best achievements between July 20, 2019, and October 7, 2020.

Read also

Tottenham’s Son Heung-min wins the prestigious Puskas Award after sensational strike against Burnley (see goal)

3 interesting footballing moments between Maradona and Nigeria | Legit TV

Source: Legit

Online view pixel