List of African nations to be affected by Donald Trump's new visa policy

List of African nations to be affected by Donald Trump's new visa policy

President Donald Trump has introduced a new visa policy to address the high rates of non-immigrant overstay in the United States.

PAY ATTENTION: Click “See First” under the “Following” tab to see News on your Facebook News Feed!

The new policy which is currently under a pilot/testing phase focuses on tourist and business visas.

It requires applicants for the visas from some listed countries to pay a bond which will be up to $15,000 in addition to visa fees which currently range from $160 to $300.

US new visa policy: List of African nations to be affected
List of African nations to be affected by Donald Trump's new visa policy. Photo credit: Kevin Dietsch
Source: Getty Images

Using the current official exchange rate of N379/1$ by the Central Bank of Nigeria (CBN), $15,000 is N5,685,000 (N5.6 million).

The policy which will be effective from December 2020 to June 2021 will affect 23 countries in this piece provides a list of African nations among the affected 23 countries, as highlighted by BBC Pidgin.

  1. Angola
  2. Burkina Faso
  3. Burundi
  4. Cape Verde
  5. Chad
  6. Democratic Republic of Congo
  7. Djibouti
  8. Eritrea
  9. Gambia
  10. Guinea Bissau
  11. Liberia
  12. Libya
  13. Mauritania
  14. Papua New Guinea
  15. Sao Tome
  16. Sudan

Read also

Jubilation as CACOVID announces plan to empower four million Nigerian youths via N25bn employment scheme

Nigeria not included

Meanwhile, the United States government has explained that Nigeria is exempted from the new visa policy.

In a statement on Tuesday, November 24, the US consulate in Nigeria said it can confirm that Nigeria is not currently affected by the policy.

The consulate said:

"Nigeria is not included in this six months pilot program."

PAY ATTENTION: Install our latest app for Android, read best news on Nigeria’s #1 news app

In other news, previously reported that Fareed Zakaria, a top American journalist with CNN, analysed why the decision of the US government to impose immigrant visa restriction on Nigeria "does not make sense."

The US government had justified the restriction on the basis of national security concerns, claiming that the affected countries have gaps in their security protocols surrounding travel which exposed the US to terror threats.

Read also

US visa: Nigeria excluded as Trump's new policy requires some Africans to pay over N5m in bonds

The American journalist, however, said the "argument does not really make sense", citing data from CATO institute.

4 implications of Trump’s ban on Nigerians from the USA | Legit TV


Online view pixel