Erling Haaland overtakes Ronaldo Delima, Zidane in Champions League with 16 goals

Erling Haaland overtakes Ronaldo Delima, Zidane in Champions League with 16 goals

- Erling Haaland has surpassed Ronaldo Delima and Zidane in Champions League

- Haaland has now scored 16 goals in Europe's elite competition

- Ronaldo Delima and Zidane netted 14 goals each in the Champions League

PAY ATTENTION: Click “See First” under the “Following” tab to see News on your Facebook News Feed!

Norwegian professional footballer Erling Haaland on Tuesday night, November 24, continued with his impressive performances in the Champions League by netting brace against Club Brugge.

Borussia Dortmund were superb in the Champions League encounter in which they defeated Club Brugge 3-0.

Haaland scored the first goal for Dortmund in the 18th minute before Jadon Sancho made it two for the hosts before the end of first half.

The 20-year-old striker scored his second goal in the 60th minute for Borussia Dortmund to get the maximum three points in the encounter.

His brace against Club Brugge means that the Norwegian has now scored 16 goals so far in his career in the Champions League and has surpassed Zidane and Brazilian Ronaldo.

Read also

Liverpool boss Klopp to battle Zidane, 3 other top managers for prestigious FIFA award

Ronaldo Delima and Zinedine Zidane were both known for their incredible styles of scoring goals during their active playing days.

But despite their superb performances for clubs and nations, Ronaldo Delima and Zinedine Zidane only scored 14 goals each in the Champions League.

However, Cristiano Ronaldo is topping the Champions League goal-chart with 132 goals so far, while Lionel Messi is occupying second position with 118 goals.

Erling Haaland will want to continue his superb form for Borussia Dortmund in their coming game against Cologne in the German Bundesliga.

Erling Haaland in action for Borussia Dortmund
Erling Haaland overtakes Ronaldo Delima, Zidane in Champions League with 16 goals. Photo by Alex Gottschalk
Source: Getty Images

Earlier, had reported how FIFA who are world football governing body announced the names of the players who will fight for this year's Best Player award which was won last year by Barcelona star Lionel Messi.

Cristiano Ronaldo will once again go into a serious battle with Lionel Messi for the 2020 FIFA Best award with the likes of Sadio Mane and Mohamed Salah also nominated.

Read also

Ferencvaros striker trolls Ronaldo in Champions League clash against Juventus (photo)

The FIFA Best awards was introduced four years ago by the world soccer ruling body in which Cristiano Ronaldo was crowned the winner in the first edition and also won it the second year.

Croatia international and Real Madrid star Luka Modric won the third edition of the awards and was also named the winner of the Ballon d'Or.

Argentina international Lionel Messi won the award in 2019 following superb performances for Barcelona in all competitions.

Afcon Qualifiers: Sports Minister trains with Super Eagles | Legit TV

Source: Legit

Online view pixel