Gov Ugwuanyi constitutes panel on victims of #EndSARS protests

Gov Ugwuanyi constitutes panel on victims of #EndSARS protests

Governor Ifeanyi Ugwuanyi of Enugu state has constituted a 9-member Administrative Panel of Inquiry to look into the recent loss of lives and/or other grievous bodily injuries to private citizens and security personnel, resulting from the hijack by miscreants of the otherwise peaceful #ENDSARS protests.

The panel will also look into the related destruction of properties of private citizens and security infrastructure in Enugu state.

According to a statement by the Secretary to the State Government (SSG), Prof Simon Uchenna Ortuanya, the panel was constituted by Gov Ugwuanyi:

Pursuant to Executive Order No. 04 of 2020 dated October 27th, made in the exercise of his powers under Section 4 (1) of the Commission of Inquiry Law Cap. 24 of the Revised Laws of Enugu State 2004”.
Gov Ugwuanyi constitutes panel on victims of #EndSARS protests
Enugu state governor, Ifeanyi Ugwuanyi
Source: UGC

Prof Ortuanya stated that the terms of reference of the panel, which has sixty days to conclude and submit its report to the governor, are:

Read also

Crisis looms in APC as party chieftain warns against extension of caretaker committee

To identify private persons and security personnel who lost their lives and recommend compensation that may be paid to their families” and: “To identify private persons and security personnel who sustained grievous bodily injuries and recommend compensation that may be paid to them.

Other terms of reference are:

To determine private properties and security infrastructure destroyed and recommend compensation and/or remedial measures” and: “Make any recommendations arising out of the evidence, considerations or findings of the Administrative Panel in relation to the matters set out in paragraphs a-c above that the panel considers appropriate.

The SSG disclosed that members of the panel, which will be inaugurated on Wednesday, October 28, 2020, at the Government House, Enugu at 1 pm include - Justice Fredrick Obieze, (Rtd.) - chairman; Professor Frank Ezugwu (Provost, ESUTH College of Medicine) - member; Professor Agozie Ogbodo (Dean, Faculty of Law, Godfrey Okoye University) - member; H.R.H. Igwe Emmanuel Ugwu (Traditional Ruler of Ibagwa Nike) - member; Professor Ngozi Ejionueme (Head, Department of Marketing, ESUT) - member.

Read also

Ebonyi lawmakers under pressure to join APC by Gov Umahi - Group alleges

Others are Rev Emmanuel Edeh (CAN Chairman in Enugu state) - member; Chief Frank Maluze (Chartered Estate Surveyor and Valuer) - member; Comrade Modester Onwuha (Vice-President, SUG, University of Nigeria, Enugu Campus) - member; Barrister Ben Chinedu Oloko (Private Legal Practitioner representing the Youths) - member and Mr Charles Abugu (Permanent Secretary, Office of the Head of Service) - secretary.

Enugu state is in the hands of God!



Source: Legit

Online view pixel