Obaseki reacts as INEC declares him winner of Edo governorship election

Obaseki reacts as INEC declares him winner of Edo governorship election

- Governor Obaseki has reacted following his re-election as the governor of Edo state

- The Edo state governor who contested on the PDP platform defeated the APC candidate and others

- Obaseki, throwing shade at Oshiomhole, described his victory as a "triumph over godfatherism"

PAY ATTENTION: Click “See First” under the “Following” tab to see Legit.ng News on your Facebook News Feed!

Governor Godwin Obaseki has reacted to his victory as the winner of the just-concluded Edo state governorship election.

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) declared Obaseki the winner after polling the highest votes in the election.

Obaseki who contested on the platform of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) defeated the candidate of the All Progressives Congress (APC), Osagie Ize-Iyamu, and other candidates in the poll.

Obaseki reacts as INEC declares him winner of Edo governorship election
Obaseki reacts as INEC declares him winner of Edo governorship election. Photo source: Godwin Obaseki
Source: Twitter

In his reaction, Obaseki said words failed in commending his supporters, saying their collective will made the "triumph over godfatherism" possible, apparently referring to the former national chairman of the APC, Adams Oshiomhole.

Read also

How President Buhari helped me defeat APC, others to win Edo election - Obaseki opens up

"Words fail me in saluting our teeming supporters who displayed immense courage in the face of threats, intimidation and brutalization. The collective will of Edo people made it possible for us this triumph over godfatherism. Congratulations to all Edo people. This is our victory!" he tweeted.

Earlier, Legit.ng reported that after collating and sorting of the election results, INEC declared that Obaseki won 13 local governments out of the 18 local government areas of the state.

The election was keenly contested between Ize-Iyamu and Obaseki.

Obaseki polled a total number of 307,955 to defeat his main challenger, Ize-Iyamu who scored 223,619.

Governor Obaseki was returned elected after polling the highest number of votes in the election.

PAY ATTENTION: Get the Latest Nigerian News Anywhere 24/7. Spend less on the Internet!

Obaseki also won Orhionmwon local government area where his main opponent Pastor Osagie Ize-Iyamu hails from.

Read also

Breaking: Ize-Iyamu speaks after defeat to Obaseki, reveals next plan

The candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) cruised to victory with 13,445 votes while the flag bearer of the All Progressives Congress (APC) got 10,458 votes.

This was disclosed by Dr Olusegun Samuel, the collation officer for Orhionmwon, at the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) Collation Centre in Benin City, on Sunday, September 20.

Also, the former APC chairman, Oshiomhole, won his polling unit, Unit 1, Etsako West LGA, for Ize-Iyamu.

In the result sighted by Legit.ng and published by Premium Times Centre for Investigative Journalism, the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) scored zero while APC polled 1201.

Obaseki vs Ize-Iyamu: Edo residents pick next governor | Legit TV

Source: Legit

Online view pixel