Governor Obaseki wins Ize-Iyamu’s local government area

Governor Obaseki wins Ize-Iyamu’s local government area

- Godwin Obaseki has delivered the local government area of Osagie Ize-Iyamu

- The incumbent governor defeated the flag bearer of the APC at Orhionmwon LGA

- In the LGA, PDP's governorship candidate was able to secure 13,445 votes

PAY ATTENTION: Click “See First” under the “Following” tab to see News on your Facebook News Feed!

The governor of Edo state, Godwin Obaseki has won Orhionmwon local government area in the ongoing governorship election where his main opponent Pastor Osagie Ize-Iyamu hails from.

The candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) cruised to victory with 13,445 votes while the flag bearer of the All Progressives Congress (APC) got 10,458 votes, Channels TV reports.

This was disclosed by Dr. Olusegun Samuel, the collation officer for Orhionmwon, at the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) Collation Centre in Benin City, on Sunday, September 20.

According to the collation officer, the election took place in eleven wards in the local government.

Read also

Edo 2020: See how Obaseki's supporters celebrate election win in style (photos)

The LGA had 11,8671 registered voters with 24,868 accredited to vote in the election.

Just in: Obaseki wins Ize-Iyamu’s local government area
Obaseki voting during the poll exercise at Emokpae Model School, unit 19, ward 4 in Oredo local government area of Edo state. Photo credit: Olubiyo Samuel
Source: Original

Though Ize-Iyamu won his polling unit, he, however, lost the entire local government area to Obaseki.

Ize-Iyamu won at ward 5, Iguododo community in Orhionwon local government area. Ize-Iyamu polled 292 votes while Edo's current governor got 21 votes.

The former Edo chief of staff, who is eyeing the state's most revered stool on the platform of APC, is presently having a tough run with 13 other candidates including Obaseki.

Earlier, reported that Obaseki emphatically cruised to victory in his polling unit in the ongoing September 19 gubernatorial election.

Obaseki voted during the poll exercise at Emokpae Model School, unit 19, ward 4 in Oredo local government area of Edo state alongside his wife Betsy Obaseki.

In unit 24 of the same Oredo ward 4, PDP won with 94 votes, while the APC got 50 votes. In unit 25, PDP got 33 votes ahead of the APC that polled 22 votes.

Read also

BREAKING: This victory is triumph over godfatherism - Obaseki shades Oshiomhole as INEC declares him winner of Edo gov election

Similarly, former All Progressives Congress (APC) national leader Adams Oshiomhole won his polling unit, Unit 1, Etsako West LGA, for the candidate of the party in the ongoing governorship election.

In the result sighted by and published by Premium Times Centre for Investigative Journalism, the PDP scored zero while APC polled 1201.

In a related development, the deputy governor of Edo and running mate of the PDP candidate in the state gubernatorial election, Philip Shaibu, has lost his Etsako West local government. reports that the former national chairman of APC and ex-governor of the state also hails from the local government.

The PDP secured 17,959 votes while the All Progressives Congress (APC) polled 26,140 votes.

Obaseki vs Ize-Iyamu: Edo residents pick next governor | Legit TV

Source: Legit Newspaper

Online view pixel