Edo election: Governor Obaseki wins polling unit

Edo election: Governor Obaseki wins polling unit

- Governor Godwin Obaseki has won his polling unit in Oredo LGA

- The Edo governor cruised to victory, beating APC's Ize-Iyamu with a landslide victory

- Obaseki also cruised to victory in ward 2, Unit 2 which is the stronghold of former APC national chair John Odigie-Oyegun

PAY ATTENTION: Click “See First” under the “Following” tab to see Legit.ng News on your Facebook News Feed!

Godwin Obaseki, Edo governor, has emphatically cruised to victory in his polling unit in the ongoing September 19 gubernatorial election.

Legit.ng recalls that Obaseki voted during the poll exercise at Emokpae Model School, unit 19, ward 4 in Oredo local government area of Edo state alongside his wife Betsy Obaseki.

Governor Obaeki, who is seeking re-election on the platform of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), is presently having a tough run with 13 other candidates including Pastor Osagie Ize-Iyamu, candidate of All Progressives Congress (APC).

Read also

Edo 2020: See how Obaseki's supporters celebrate election win in style (photos)

Edo election: Governor Obaseki wins polling unit
Governor Godwin Obaseki has won his polling unit in Oredo LGA.
Source: Twitter

Obaseki polled 184 votes while Osagie Ize-Iyamu secured 62 votes at the governor's unit.

In unit 21, PDP got 53 votes while the APC polled 33 votes. In unit 23, it was PDP that polled high with 101 while APC 32.

Meanwhile, in unit 24 of the same Oredo ward 4, PDP won with 94 votes, while the APC got 50 votes. In unit 25, PDP got 33 votes ahead of the APC that polled 22 votes.

In ward 2 unit 2, which is the area of former APC national chairman, Chief John Odigie Oyegun, PDP polled 109 while APC got only 40 votes.

PAY ATTENTION: Get the Latest Nigerian News Anywhere 24/7. Spend less on the Internet!

Earlier, Legit.ng reported that Philips Shaibu, Edo state deputy governor, on Saturday morning, September 19, cast his vote in the ongoing governorship poll exercise in his unit at Jattu, Etsako West local government area.

Read also

Edo election: Congratulations pour in for Obaseki as Nigerians await INEC declaration

Shaibu, who is seeking reelection alongside his principal Governor Godwin Obaseki on the platform of PDP, voted at his Ward 11, unit 5, at about 10: 30 am amid loyalists.

The deputy governor expressed optimism about PDP winning the election, saying he is satisfied with the process.

Edo election: Obaseki's win will send Oshiomhole into political oblivion | - on Legit TV

Source: Legit

Online view pixel