PFA Team of the Year: Van Dijk, Aubameyang, De Bryune, Vardy make list

PFA Team of the Year: Van Dijk, Aubameyang, De Bryune, Vardy make list

- The PFA Team of the Year had five Liverpool stars in the first-eleven selected

- Manchester City and Leicester City had two slots following the individual performances of their players

- The last two selections came from Arsenal and Premier League outfit Burnley

PAY ATTENTION: Click “See First” under the “Following” tab to see News on your Facebook News Feed!

The PFA Team of the Year saw five players from Premier League champions Liverpool dominate the starting XI.

The Reds won their first league title in 30 years with 18 points to spare as overthrew Manchester City to become the best team in England.

The Anfield legends include Football Writer's Player of the Year Jordan Henderson Sadio Mane, Andrew Robertson, Virgil Van Dijk and PFA Young Player of the Year Trent Alexander-Arnold.

PFA Team of the Year: Van Dijk, Aubameyang, De Bryune, Vardy make list
PFA Team of the Year: Van Dijk, Aubameyang, De Bryune, Vardy make list. Photo Credit: Getty Images
Source: Getty Images

Henderson is the only Liverpool player out of the five stars who made the list for the first time in his career after having a fantastic 2019-20 season while others made it for the second season in a row.

Read also

Ronaldo Delima tops list of highest goalscorers at 21 for club and country (see where Messi and Ronaldo are)

Newly-crowned Kevin De Bruyne also made the list alongside his former Manchester City teammate David Silva.

The league's topscorer Jamie Vardy and Turkish center-back Caglar Soyuncu made the squad following their performances for Leicester City last campaign.

England number two goalkeeper and Burnley shot-stopper Nick Pope beat the likes of Liverpool's Alison Becker, City's Ederson and Sheffield United's Dean Henderson

Arsenal's Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang occupied the last slot after scoring 22 league goals for Mikel Arteta's side last season.

He helped the Gunners win the FA Cup to book a spot in the Europa League next season and also added the Community Shield to Arsenal's cabinet after beating Liverpool on penalties.

PAY ATTENTION: Become a member of the leading sports Facebook group 'Naija Football Fan Zone'

Meanwhile, had earlier reported that Manchester City superstar Kevin de Bruyne has emerged winner of the 2020 Professional Footballers' Association Player of the Year award.

Read also

Former Real Madrid star reveals how Mourinho almost 'killed' Ronaldo despite scoring a hat-trick

The Belgian star beat stiff competition from Liverpool's Sadio Mane, Virgil van Dijk, Jordan Henderson and Trent Alexander-Arnold to win the prestigious prize.

He has now become the first City star to win the award, while Chelsea's Bethany England takes home the women's category of the award.

How we mistakenly celebrated Yakubu’s miss at 2010 World Cup – Brown Ideye | Legit TV

Source: Legit

Online view pixel