Fresh crisis rocks Imo APC as committee disowns party senatorial candidate Ibezim

Fresh crisis rocks Imo APC as committee disowns party senatorial candidate Ibezim

- Imo state chapter of APC has again erupted in a fresh crisis

- The APC in the state has been battling one problem or the other since Hope Uzodinma became the governor of the state

- Ibezim Chukwuma Frank, who was recognised as the party's senatorial candidate for Imo North, was disowned by the screening committee

PAY ATTENTION: Click “See First” under the “Following” tab to see News on your Facebook News Feed!

The crisis rocking the Imo state chapter of the All Progressives Congress (APC) is yet to abate as the screening committee of the party for Imo North senatorial by-election has kicked against the choice of Ibezim Chukwuma Frank as the candidate.

Vanguard reports that the committee declared that it never cleared Ibezim to participate in the exercise. gathered that the chairman of the committee, Lawrence Chukwu, disclosed this while speaking with journalists on Monday, September 7, in Abuja.

Read also

Coronavirus: Traders reveal hike in cost of food items as Easter beckons

He said: “Unfortunately, with utmost dismay, we noticed that our report which cleared five aspirants and have six not cleared for very cogent and verifiable reasons were jettisoned.

Fresh crisis rocks Imo APC as committee disowns party senatorial candidate Ibezim
Governor Hope Uzodinma of Imo state. Credit: Twitter/Hope Uzodinma.
Source: Twitter

"Both the aspirants cleared and not cleared were allowed to run for the senatorial primaries, embarrassingly, one of the aspirants not cleared is being touted as having emerged as one of the winners of the said controversial primary election.

"For record purposes, the eleven senatorial aspirants screened were; Sen. Ifeanyi Ararume, Hon. Matthew Omegara, Achonu Nneji, Uchendu Chijioke, Ibezim Frank, Edith Uwajimogu, Uchennea Onyeiwu-Uba, Eze Okoro, Bright Nwachukwu, Onuoha Chijioke and Iheanacho Ihim.

“Our committee cleared five aspirants namely Sen. Ifeanyi Ararume, Uchendu Chijioke, Edith Uwajimogu, Bright Nwachukwu and Eze Joachim Okoro. Six other aspirants were disqualified for not meeting the basic requirements and they are Hon. Matthew Omegara, Achonu Nneji, Ibezim Frank, Uchenna Uba, Onuoha Chijioke and Iheanacho Ihim."

Read also

Kogi guber: Huge number of APC aspirants is due to my efforts, says Gov Bello

He said section 3(f) of the guidelines for the nomination of candidates stipulates that only aspirants fully cleared by the party shall be eligible to stand election at the party’s primaries.

Chukwu further stated that section 3(k) also clearly stated that all aspirants must show knowledge of the party’s manifestos and programmes and must commit themselves to the full implementation of the party’s goals and objectives.

PAY ATTENTION: Install our latest app for Android, read best news on Nigeria’s #1 news app

“He submitted another affidavit stating the loss of his academic qualification certificates which was not signed by the deponent, this also rendered the document invalid. The said unsigned affidavit did not have a police extract in support, to show that he reported to the law enforcement authority,” he added.

Meanwhile, had previously reported that a factional chairman of the ruling party in Imo state, Daniel Nwafor, was suspended.

Read also

Newspaper review: Governors adamant on wage demand, say only Lagos can pay

It was reported that Nwafor, who is the chairman of APC in Imo recognised by the former governor of the state Rochas Okorocha, was handed marching orders over alleged gross indiscipline and insubordination.

Gaidom announces self as APC Chairman, cancels Edo guber screening | - on Legit TV


Online view pixel