Raheem Sterling among 6-man shortlist for PFA Player of the Year

Raheem Sterling among 6-man shortlist for PFA Player of the Year

- Raheem Sterling had a remarkable season with Manchester City last season scoring 34 goals

- The 25-year-old has been named in a six-man shortlist for the PFA Player of the year

- The list is dominated by Liverpool stars with Van Dijk, Mane, Alexander-Arnold also named

PAY ATTENTION: Click “See First” under the “Following” tab to see Legit.ng News on your Facebook News Feed!

Raheem Sterling has been named along with five others for the prestigious Professional Footballers Association (PFA) Player of the award for the just concluded 2019/2020 season as announced on Friday, September 4.

The 25-year-old scored scored 34 goals in Manchester City shirt at the just concluded season - Premier League, Champions League, Capital One, FA Cup, Premier League Asia Trophy.

Liverpool’s Trent Alexander-Arnold has also been nominated by his fellow pros for both prize.

The 21-year-old is the only player to receive nominations for both PFA Player of the Year award as well as the Young Player after his remarkable season in the club’s title-winning success.

Read also

Ronaldo Delima tops list of highest goalscorers at 21 for club and country (see where Messi and Ronaldo are)

Despite being a right-back for the Reds, Alexander-Arnold scored four goals and provided 13 assists last season.

Raheem Sterling shortlisted for PFA Player of the Year award. Photo Credit: Getty Images
Raheem Sterling: Manchester City star leads 6-man shortlist for PFA Player of the Year
Source: Getty Images

Virgil van Dijk, Jordan Henderson and Sadio Mane were also named while Kevin De Bruyne make up the six strong short list with which winner of the award will be announced on Tuesday, September 8.

PFA Player of the Year - Nominees

1. Trent Alexander-Arnold (Liverpool)

2. Kevin De Bruyne (Manchester City)

3. Virgil van Dijk (Liverpool)

4. Jordan Henderson (Liverpool)

5. Sadio Mané (Liverpool)

6. Raheem Sterling (Manchester City)

Recall that Jürgen Klopp earlier won the League Managers Association manager of the year award for guiding the Reds to Premierer League glory for the first time in 30 years

The German tactician won the award on Monday night, July 27, beating Wycombe's manager Gareth Ainsworth and Sheffield United’s Chris Wilder to the prestigious individual accolade.

The prestigious award is named the 'Sir Alex Ferguson trophy' and the Manchester United legend sent a special video message to the Liverpool boss.

Read also

Top fascinating facts about Odion Ighalo: transfers, stats, net worth, and family

“And, of course, the winner: Jürgen Klopp. Jürgen: fantastic. I speak about Leeds United, 16 years in the Championship,” Ferguson said.

Legit.ng earlier reported that Kai Havertz has reportedly left the Germany camp and now on his way to the UK to complete his highly anticipated £90million move to Premier League club Chelsea.

The 21-year-old Bayer Leverkusen forward is named in the Germany squad for the ongoing UEFA Nations League, but was an unused substitute during their 1-1 with Spain on Thursday night, September 3.

Despite Germany having another game against Switzerland on Sunday, Havertz has reportedly left training and headed for London to complete his long awaited move to Chelsea.

How we mistakenly celebrated Yakubu’s miss at 2010 World Cup – Brown Ideye | Legit TV

Source: Legit.ng

Online view pixel