Virgil van Dijk achieves Premier League milestone after victory over Newcastle United

Virgil van Dijk achieves Premier League milestone after victory over Newcastle United

- Virgil van Dijk achieved a major milestone after helping Liverpool win first EPL title since 1992

- The Dutchman became the fifth Premier League player to play every minute of his side's games

- Gary Pallister, John Terry, Cesar Azpilicueta and Wes Morgan were the stars who earlier achieved the feat

PAY ATTENTION: Click “See First” under the “Following” tab to see News on your Facebook News Feed!

Liverpool defender Virgil van Dijk is fast rising to legendary status in the Premier League after becoming the fifth player to play every minute for the champions.

The Dutchman joined the Reds from Southampton in a deal valued around €85 million over two years ago and he became an instant hit for the club.

Barely 18 months after his mega-million move to Anfield, he helped the club win the Champions League.

PAY ATTENTION: Become a member of the leading sports Facebook group 'Naija Football Fan Zone'

Ronaldo Delima tops list of highest goalscorers at 21 for club and country (see where Messi and Ronaldo are)

The 29-year-old centre-back crowned his efforts by helping his side end their 30-year wait for the Premier League title having narrowly missed it to Manchester City the previous campaign.

Virgil van Dijk achieves Premier League milestone after victory over Newcastle United

Virgil van Dijk at last year's FIFA The Best award after winning UEFA best player award - Getty Images
Source: Getty Images

According to The Mirror, Jurgen Klopp's men held the best record in the league for the second straight season.

The publication further revealed that Cesar Azpilicueta and Wes Morgan achieved similar feats for Chelsea and Leicester City in successive years.

Blues legend John Terry did so in Jose Mourinho's first title-winning season at Stamford Bridge in 2004/05.

Manchester United's Gary Pallister became the first to do so when they won the first-ever Premier League title in 1992/93.

Van Dijk has now joined the league of players to achieve the feat for their clubs but he had the help of Joe Gomez and Joel Matip to make it happen.

Meanwhile, the only goal for the Merseysiders next season would be to retain the Premier League title after about 28 years of waiting.

Top fascinating facts about Odion Ighalo: transfers, stats, net worth, and family

He said: "It was not too difficult [to motivate ourselves]. We all wanted to show why we're the champions. We knew it would be tough.

"We made it even more difficult for ourselves but we played well in the second half. It's good to finish the season on a high and now for a little break.

"It was an outstanding game in the second half. We played amazing football, and created chances. A well deserved win. "Hopefully we'll be fresh and ready to go for next season in a couple of weeks.

"For this beautiful club it's [their season] outstanding and should spur us to retain the title. It will be tough. Teams will improve and they'll want to beat us more.

"We'll focus on each game at a time as we did this season. It will be a new challenge."

Top facts about Arsene Wenger: His family, career, height, and net worth earlier reported that Jordan Henderson captained Liverpool to their first English Premier League glory in 30 years and has been named the player of the year by the Football Writers’ Association.

The 30-year-old featured in 30 games for the Reds until he missed the last four games after he sustained a nagging injury earlier in July.

Manchester City’s Kevin De Bruyne was voted second by the football writers.

Rashidi Yekini is irreplaceable in Super Eagles – Abdul Sule | Legit TV

Source: Legit

Mailfire view pixel