Covid-19: Oyo govt cancels 3rd term for secondary schools

Covid-19: Oyo govt cancels 3rd term for secondary schools

- Oyo state is taking a fast leap ahead of others amid Covid-19 crisis

- The state has announced that third term calendar for 2020 academic session has been scrapped

- This came after Oyo government announced the reopening of schools for graduating classes

PAY ATTENTION: Click “See First” under the “Following” tab to see News on your Facebook News Feed!

Oyo state government has announced the cancellation of third term calendar for students in all primary and secondary schools in the state due to Covid-19 crisis.

Governor Seyi Makinde announced the decision on Tuesday, July 20, as contained in a statement by the state commissioner for education, Olasunkanmi Olaleye.

Olaleye said the decision was reached during the state executive council meeting at the government house in Ibadan on Tuesday, adding that the 2020/21 academic session will begin on September 21 and end on July 30, 2021.

Read also

Coronavirus: Traders reveal hike in cost of food items as Easter beckons

“According to the approved calendar, Third Term 2019/2020 session has been cancelled and promotion of students, for all affected classes, will now be determined by First and Second Term Continuous Assessment.

Covid-19: Oyo govt cancels 3rd term for schools
Oyo state has announced the cancellation of third term calendar for students. Twitter: Seyi Makinde.
Source: Twitter

“Pry 6, JSS 3 and SSS 3 will proceed on holiday from 30th of July and resume for their Examination as follows;

“Basic Education Certificate Examination (BECE)- 10th to 18th August 2020. Competitive Entrance Examination into the Schools of Science- 19th August 2020," Olaleye said.

Oyo state had earlier reopened schools for the graduating classes, a decision adopted by the federal government after the submission of the fifth report of the presidential task force on Covid-19.

PAY ATTENTION: Download our mobile app to enjoy the latest news update

Meanwhile reported that against the position of the federal government, all the six states in the southwest have agreed to reopen schools for students to participate in the forthcoming West African School Certificate Examination (WASSCE).

Read also

Coronavirus: Engaging activities you can do to avoid boredom following the stay at home order

The six states in the southwest are Lagos, Ogun, Oyo, Ondo, Osun and Ekiti. Commissioners, special advisers on education and SUBEB chairmen reached the agreement at a virtual meeting convened by the Development Agenda for Western Nigeria (DAWN) Commission.

A statement by the DAWN Commission indicated that all the states will reopen schools for SS3 students by August 3 with COVID-19 preventive measures in place.

Also, the states also agreed to appeal to the federal government for postponement of the WASSCE by at least three weeks from the proposed resumption date.

COVID-19: Parents speak on allowing their children return to school | Legit TV


Online view pixel