APC chooses indirect primary in Ondo

APC chooses indirect primary in Ondo

- The APC in Ondo will be using the indirect mode in its primary election

- This was announced by the chairman of the ruling party's election committee, Governor Yahaya Bello

- Governor Bello said that the move was approved by the APC NEC after it was suggested by its NWC

PAY ATTENTION: Click “See First” under the “Following” tab to see Legit.ng News on your Facebook News Feed!

The All Progressives Congress (APC) in Ondo state on Friday, July, 17, decided on what mode it will adopt in its forthcoming primary gubernatorial election.

The chairman of the APC's election committee, Governor Yahaya Bello of Kogi, announced at the ruling party's national Secretariat that the indirect primary mode will be used, The Nation reports.

Bello stated: “On the issue of the mode of primary, this has been settled by the previous NWC and ratified by NEC, which gives the opportunity to the state executive committee to chose the mode of primary that they would want. This has been settled.

Read also

Kogi State governorship election results: Who won?

APC chooses indirect primary in Ondo
The governor of Ondo state, Rotimi Akeredolu (Source: UGC)
Source: UGC

PAY ATTENTION: Install our latest app for Android, read best news on Nigeria’s #1 news app

“The Ondo Primary election would be conducted via indirect mode. This was the option chosen by the Ondo State chapter of the All Progressives Congress (APC) and ratified by the National Executive Committee (NEC) of our great party in the last meeting. So, we are going for indirect primary.”

Meanwhile, Legit.ng reported that all the 12 aspirants jostling for the governorship ticket of the APC in Ondo state had been cleared by the party’s screening committee.

The ruling party’s screening panel was chaired by Tijjani Tumsa. The party’s deputy national publicity secretary, Yekini Nabena, said none of the 12 aspirants was disqualified from the race.

He listed the aspirants in the primary election to include incumbent Governor Rotimi Akeredolu, Kekemeke Isaac, Olayide Adelami, Joseph Iji, Segun Abraham and Nathaniel Adojutelegan.

Read also

Fact check: How true is the claim that Ogun guber election should be declared inconclusive?

Others were Olusola Oke, Ifeoluwa Oyedele, Odimayo John, Olajumoke Anifowoshe, Awodeyi Akinsehinwa and Olubukola Olarogha.

Also, Akeredolu seemed to be the favoured candidate of the presidency ahead of the primary election.

The presence of President Muhammadu Buhari in Ondo state earlier this year to commission Ondo-Linyi Industrial Hub and Flyover Interchange was a tacit endorsement of Akeredolu.

APC sacks NWC, appoints caretaker committee | Legit TV

Source: Legit

Online view pixel