Gov Bello heads Ondo state APC governorship primary election committee

Gov Bello heads Ondo state APC governorship primary election committee

- The APC has announced the members of two committees concerning the Ondo state governorship election

- Governor Yahaya Bello of Kogi state will chair the APC primary election committee in the state

- Emperor Chris Baywood Ibe will chair the primary election appeal committee

PAY ATTENTION: Click “See First” under the “Following” tab to see News on your Facebook News Feed!

Governor Yahaya Bello of Kogi state has been appointed to chair the All Progressives Congress (APC) primary election committee in Ondo state.

This was revealed in a statement sent to journalists on Thursday, July 16 by the APC deputy national publicity secretary, Yekini Nabena.

According to the statement, Emperor Chris Baywood Ibe will chair the primary election appeal committee.

Gov Bello heads Ondo state APC governorship primary election committee
Governor Bello is an influential member of the APC. photo credit: Kogi state govt
Source: Twitter

While Governor Bello will chair the primary election committee, a former APC senatorial candidate in Delta state, Olorogun Otega Emerhor will serve as secretary.

Other members of the committee are Alwan Hassan, Mr Emma Andy, Chief Samuel Sambo, Hajiya Binta Salihu and Mrs Margret Ngoi Igwe.

Read also

Kogi guber: Huge number of APC aspirants is due to my efforts, says Gov Bello

The other members are the former APC governorship candidate in Oyo state, Dr Adebayo Adelabu and Abdullahi Aliyu

For the primary election appeal committee, Arch. Abdulmimuni Okara will serve as secretary

Other members are Mr. Festus Fientes, Mr Okon Owoefiak, Mr abba Isah, Alhaji Umar Duhu, Hon. Sani El-katuzu, Mrs. Osuere Euniceand Emeka Agaba.

Both committees will be inaugurated by at the APC national secretariat on Friday, July 17 by the party's leadership.

Meanwhile, all the 12 aspirants jostling for the APC governorship ticket of the All Progressives in Ondo state have been cleared by the party’s screening committee.

The ruling party’s screening panel was chaired by Tijjani Tumsa.

Meanwhile, a recent media report indicates that Governor Akeredolu seems to be the favoured candidate of the presidency ahead of the primary election.

Sources quoted in the report said the presence of President Muhammadu Buhari in Ondo state earlier this year to commission Ondo-Linyi Industrial Hub and Flyover Interchange was a tacit endorsement of Akeredolu.

Read also

Battle of ‘hot’ contenders: Top 5 candidates who may win Imo governorship election

Aside from the presidency’s support, Akeredolu is said to enjoy the support of his colleagues, in the Progressive Governors’ Forum (PGF), chaired by the Kebbi State Governor, Atiku Bagudu.

PAY ATTENTION: Install our latest app for Android, read best news on Nigeria’s #1 news app

Meanwhile, a recent media report indicates that some chieftains of the APC have ignored President Muhammadu Buhari’s directive on the party's crisis and have instituted court cases against the ruling party.

President Buhari had warned that no court case should be instituted and those already in court should be withdrawn.

An APC chieftain, Barrister Kalu Agu, approached the court with a fresh suit challenging NEC’s dissolution of the Comrade Adams Oshiomhole-led National Working Committee (NWC).

Before Agu’s legal action, another APC chieftain in Lagos state, Chief Lateef Arigbaruwo, had also filed a suit against the party at the Federal High Court in Lagos, seeking the sack of the caretaker committee.

Read also

Legit Poll: Nigerians debate who conducts the best election between Jega and Yakubu

NWC dissolution: I remain loyal to President Buhari - Oshiomhole | Legit TV

Source: News

Online view pixel