Yahaya Bello: Appeal court affirms Kogi governor's election

Yahaya Bello: Appeal court affirms Kogi governor's election

- The court of appeal has ruled that Yahaya Bello was duly elected governor of Kogi state

- The justices dismissed the appeals of four political parties challenging Bello's victory as lacking in merit and also fined the PDP N300,000

- INEC declared Governor Bello winner of the November 2019 election to earn him a second term in office

PAY ATTENTION: Click “See First” under the “Following” tab to see Legit.ng News on your Facebook News Feed!

The election of Yahaya Bello as Governor of Kogi state has been confirmed by the Court of Appeal, Channels Television reports.

The court, sitting in Abuja, on Saturday, July 4, held that Bello was duly elected governor of the north-central state.

According to the report, the judgement was handed down by a five-man panel of justices.

The justices dismissed the appeals filed by four political parties challenging the governor’s re-election in the November 2019 governorship poll.

Yahaya Bello: Appeal court affirms Kogi governor's election

Governor Bello defeated the likes of PDP's Musa Wada on the road to winning his second term in November 2019. Photo Credit: Yahaya Bello
Source: Facebook

The appeals dismissed were filed by the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), the Social Democratic Party (SDP), the Action Peoples Party (APP), and the Democratic Peoples Party (DPP).

PDP's Musa Wada was also penalized for wasting the time of the court with his appeal.

Wada was, therefore, ordered to pay N100,000 each to Governor Bello, the APC and INEC, who were listed as respondents in the appeal of the opposition party's candidate.

Legit.ng recalls that the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) on Monday, November 18, 2019, declared Yahaya Bello, candidate of the All Progressives Congress, winner of the Kogi governorship election.

Ibrahim Garba, the vice-chancellor of the Ahmadu Bello University (ABU), and returning officer for the commission, gave the final figures and made the declaration at exactly 11.57 am on Monday.

PAY ATTENTION: Install our latest app for Android, read the best news on Nigeria’s #1 news app

Garba noted that Bello polled the highest number of votes in the election with 406,222 to defeat Musa Wada of the PDP, who scored 189,704 in the election.

As collated by INEC, it means Bello defeated Wada with a total of 216,518.

Natasha Akpoti of the Social Democratic Party (SDP) came a distant third in the election with 9482 votes.

Kogi election: Kogi deputy governor reacts to APC victory | Legit TV

Source: Legit.ng

Online view pixel