Breaking: Buhari suspends MD of NSITF Somefun, four directors

Breaking: Buhari suspends MD of NSITF Somefun, four directors

- President Buhari has suspended the managing director of NSITF, Adebayo Somefun

- Four directors of the federal agency were also suspended by the president

- Charles Akpan, the deputy director, press and public relations, in the agency, announced their suspension in a statement issued on Thursday, July 2, in Abuja

PAY ATTENTION: Click “See First” under the “Following” tab to see News on your Facebook News Feed!

President Muhammadu Buhari has approved the indefinite suspension of the managing director/chief executive of the Nigeria Social Insurance Trust Fund (NSITF), Adebayo Somefun.

The Nation reports that the president also approved the suspension of four directors of the agency. gathered that they are the executive director, finance and investment, Jasper Ikedi Azuatalam, executive director, operations, Olukemi Nelson and the executive director, administration, Alhaji Tijani Darazo Sulaiman.

Their suspension was announced in a statement issued by the deputy director, press and public relations, Charles Akpan, on Thursday, July 2, in Abuja, the nation's capital.

Read also

AfDB saga: What really happened when Buhari met Akinwunmi Adesina - Femi Adesina reveals

Breaking: Buhari suspends MD of NSITF Somefun, four directors
President Muhammadu Buhari. Credit: Facebook/Femi Adesina.
Source: Twitter

Meanwhile, had previously reported that President Buhari on Thursday, May 7, approved the reconstitution of the board of directors of the Nigeria Bulk Electricity Trading Company Plc (NBET).

It was reported that the appointment, which takes immediate effect, will see Zainab Ahmed, minister of finance, take over as the new chairman of the board.

The appointment came barely 24 hours after the president appointed a former police IG, Suleiman Abba, as the new BoT chairman of the Nigeria Police Trust Fund.

PAY ATTENTION: Install our latest app for Android, read best news on Nigeria’s #1 news app

According to the tweets on the Twitter handle of the Nigerian presidency, the board will also be constituted by the non-executive director from the ministry of power which would be represented by a staff member, not below the level of a director.

Others appointees include Alex Okoh of Bureau of Public Enterprises who will serve as a non-executive director, Patience Oniha, the director-general of Debt Management Office (DMO), also appointed as a non-executive director.

Read also

Borno state governor suspends all hospital staff, gives reason

In a related report, President Buhari on Wednesday, July 1, requested the Senate to screen and confirm 41 non-career and one career ambassadors for an immediate appointment.

Buhari’s letter of request was read on the floor at plenary by the Senate president, Ahmad Lawan. gathered that among the nominees were Debo Adesina (Oyo), ex-minister of state for defence, Ademola Seriki (Lagos) and Dare Sunday Awoniyi (Kogi).

Slum Chronicles: Even Coronavirus is scared of us - slum dwellers | - on Legit TV


Online view pixel