FG approves six new colleges of education in 6 states

FG approves six new colleges of education in 6 states

- The Nigerian government has disclosed plans to establish six new federal colleges of education across the country

- Ben Gooong, a spokesperson for the ministry of education made the disclosure

- The ministry of education disclosed that an inspection is scheduled for May 11 to facilitate early take-off of the project

PAY ATTENTION: Click “See First” under the “Following” tab to see Legit.ng News on your Facebook News Feed!

The federal ministry of education has disclosed that six new federal colleges of education across the country will be established.

Ben Gooong, a spokesperson for the ministry of education, told Premium Times on Thursday, May 14, that the new institutions would be located in six geo-political zones of the country.

FG approves six new colleges of education 6 states

Six new federal colleges of education are to be established by the federal government. Photo credits: Daily Trust
Source: UGC

The states listed for the establishment of the schools are:

1. Bauchi

2. Benue

3. Ebonyi

4. Osun,

5. Sokoto

6. Edo state

Coronavirus: Presidency lists 14 things on Buhari's plan to save Nigeria after disease ends

Sunny Echono, a permanent secretary in the ministry of education, disclosed in a letter that an inspection was due for May 11 to facilitate early take-off.

The government disclosed that Osun school is to be located in Iwo local government area.

In reaction to the development, the Oluwo of Iwoland, Abdulrosheed Akanbi, commended The president, Muhammadu Buhari, for approving the school.

He assured the federal government that his community would provide the necessary support for the take-off of the institution.

The Nigerian government currently has 152 colleges of education in the country, consisting of 21 federal, 82 private and 49 state colleges.

In a related report, Governor Godwin Obaseki of Edo state has said the Edo state federal college of education approved by government would boost Technical and Vocational Education Training (TVET) in the state.

The governor stated that the institution would complement his administration’s focus on technical education.

Obseki said the federal college of education in Edo state and he granted it after he spoke to the president on the issue two months ago.

Zulum sets up governor's office outside Government House

Meanwhile, following the spike in the cases of coronavirus across the country, the federal government has announced that all schools across levels remain closed. The government made this known through a circular dated Friday, May 8, channelled to heads of commissions and regulatory bodies in the education sector.

Ministry of Education, through the memo, warned the authorities across education levels to dismiss the trending fake news that there has been an order for the reopening of the schools, Vanguard reports.

The circular was sent to the executive secretaries, National Universities Commission (NUC), National Board for Technical Education (NBTE) National Commission for Colleges of Education (NCCE) and the director, Basic and Secondary Education (BSE).

PAY ATTENTION: Download our mobile app to enjoy the latest news update

NAIJ.com (naija.ng) - Legit.ng. We have upgraded to serve you better

COVID-19: FG kicks off school feeding programme in Abuja | Legit TV

Processes are ongoing to harness herbal medicine for Covid-19 cure - FG set to take Madagascar way

Source: Legit

Online view pixel