Coronavirus: FG adds Austria and Sweden to list of high risk countries

Coronavirus: FG adds Austria and Sweden to list of high risk countries

- The Nigerian government has added two other countries to the list of countries restricted from Nigeria amid coronavirus pandemic

- The latest countries added to the list are Austria and Sweden

- The federal government had earlier restricted the United Kingdom, the United States and others from the country to avoid further importation of the virus

Amid coronavirus spread, the Nigerian government has added two more countries to the list of high-risk countries which are banned from entering the country.

The two new countries added to the list, according to Channels TV, are Austria and Sweden.

The newspaper reports that the minister of health, Osagie Ehanire, made the announcement at a media briefing on Friday, March 2020, in Abuja.

Coronavirus: FG adds Austria and Sweden to list of high risk countries

Health minister Ehanire said Austria and Sweden have been added to list of high-risk countries restricted from Nigeria
Source: UGC

Meanwhile, Nigerians have reacted to the federal government's restriction of travelers from China, Italy and other high-risk countries.

The restriction was put in place following the unending coronavirus pandemic facing the country.

The affected countries also include Iran, South Korea, Spain, Japan, France, Germany, USA, Norway, UK, Netherlands and Switzerland.

Many Nigerians who reacted to the news on social media supported the restriction move by the federal government.

Others claimed the federal government should have restricted the movement from these countries a long time ago. According to them, European countries have closed their borders as well.

PAY ATTENTION: Install our latest app for Android, read best news on Nigeria’s #1 news app

In another related report, the federal government has shut down three international airports as part of its strategic measures to curb the spread of coronavirus across the country.

The airports are; Mallam Aminu Kano Airport, Kano; Akanu Ibiam Airport, Enugu; and the Port Harcourt Airport, Rivers.

On Wednesday, March 18, the Nigerian Senate urged the government to shut down all international airports except the Lagos and Abuja airports for easier monitoring of the viral disease.

The Buhari administration has continued to implement far-reaching initiatives to curb the spread of the disease in Nigeria.

Recently, the government gave a directive to airlines operating international and regional flights in the country to commence the implementation of the use of yellow card as a requirement for travel.

A letter from the office of the Nigeria Civil Aviation Authority (NCAA) was distributed to the affected airlines after the directive came from the federal ministry of health.

Also, the government banned all travels outside the country by officials of ministries, departments, and agencies until further notice.

The move was announced by the secretary to the government of the federation, Boss Mustapha at the end of the inaugural meeting of the presidential task force for the control of the viral disease.

The presidential task force also advised Nigerians to cancel all travels abroad especially to all high-risk countries. ( -> We have upgraded to serve you better

Сoronavirus: 6 outrageous lies about the disease | Legit TV

Source: Legit

Online view pixel