Two Reps members from Imo defect to APC

Two Reps members from Imo defect to APC

- APC received new members of House Representatives into its fold on Thursday, February 13

- Femi Gbajabiamila, the speaker of the House of Representatives, announced the member on the floor of the House

- The speaker said the lawmakers said they were leaving the AA as a result of irreconcilable issues in the party

Two lawmakers of the Action Alliance (AA) on Thursday defected to the All Progressives Congress (APC).

Premium Times reports that the speaker of the House of Representatives, Femi Gbajabiamila, announced Kingsley Uju and Pascal Obi as the new members of the majority party. gathered that Uju represents Ohaji/Egbema/Oguta/Oru West Ideato federal constituency while Obi is from Ideato North/South federal constituency from Imo state.

In separate letters read by Gbajabiamila, the lawmakers said they were leaving the AA as a result of “irreconcilable issues” in the party.

They went further to say they decided to defect to the APC as “progressives” after all efforts to resolve the challenges in the AA failed.

Read also

Breaking: Senate adjourns plenary session to mourn the death of APC senator

This latest defection takes the tally of the APC in the lower House from Imo to four, two shy of the PDP’s six. The state has 10 seats in the House.

Uzodinma and Rochas Okorocha, senator representing Imo West, also of the APC, attended the House announcement.

The defection also affirms the growing spread of the ruling APC in the southeastern region of the country, especially in Imo.

Rochas Okorocha, who became governor of Imo on the shoulders of APGA, defected to the APC before the end of his first term as governor in 2014.

PAY ATTENTION: Install our latest app for Android, read best news on Nigeria’s #1 news app

Meanwhile, had previously reported Governor Nasir El-Rufai of Kaduna state on Friday, January 10, received some Peoples Democratic Party leaders in the state who defected to the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC).

It was reported that among those who defected to the APC were former commissioners, former federal and state legislators, former local government council chairmen and other senior PDP officials.

Read also

APC appoints Bisi Akande to chair 12-member reconciliation committee

Also, a former speaker of the Nasarawa state House of Assembly, Musa Mohammed, defected from the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) to the All Progressives Congress (APC).

Mohammed defected from the PDP officially by withdrawing his membership from the party. ( -> We keep evolving to serve our readers better

‘Nigerians have comprehensively rejected PDP’ | - on Legit TV


Online view pixel