APC appoints Bisi Akande to chair 12-member reconciliation committee

APC appoints Bisi Akande to chair 12-member reconciliation committee

- APC has named a 12-member committee to end crises within the party

- The party's spokesman, Lanre Issa-Onilu unveiled the names of the committee on Monday, February 10

- Former governor of Osun state, Bisi Akande, will chair the committee

Apparently determined to find a lasting solution to the crises rocking its chapters in some states of the federation, the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC) has constituted a new 12-member reconciliation committee.

Legit.ng reports that the news of the committee was broken in a statement issued on Monday, February 10, by the party's national publicity secretary, Mallam Lanre Issa-Onilu, in Abuja.

He said President Muhammadu Buhari and the leadership of the APC reviewed the membership of the party’s national reconciliation committee and came up with the twelve names that would carry out the responsibility.

Issa-Onilu said that it was agreed that the first interim national chairman of the party and ex-governor of Osun state, Chief Adebisi Akande, would pilot the affairs of the committee as the chairman.

Read also

Breaking: Nigerian Senate inaugurates 56-member constitution review committee

According to the statement, the 12-member committee are:

1. Chief Bisi Akande (Chairman)

2. Governor of Niger state, Abubakar Sani Bello

3. Governor of Osun state, Gboyega Oyetola

4. Senate leader, Senator Yahaya Abdullahi

APC appoints Bisi Akande to chair 12-member reconciliation committee
Former governor of Osun state, Chief Bisi Akande
Source: Depositphotos

5. Deputy speaker, House of Representatives, Hon. Ahmed Idris Wase

6. Sen. Umaru Tanko Al-Makura

7. Sen. Kashim Shettima

8. Minister of state for environment, Sharon Ikeazor

9. Alh. Nasiru Aliko Koki

10. Sen. Khairat Gwadabe-Abdulrazak

11. Sen. Binta Garba

12. Sen. John Enoh (Secretary).

The committee is empowered to address grievances of party members across the country and resolve existing conflicts, all with a view to fostering oneness, strengthen the party for better governance and ensure unity of purpose within the party.

Issa-Onilu also noted that the committee would be inaugurated on Tuesday, February 11, at the APC national secretariat by 3 pm.

Meanwhile, Legit.ng had previously reported that the APC urged the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) to de-register more political parties.

Read also

Oshiomhole sends letter to Tinubu, Bisi Akande, others over important issue concerning southwest

PAY ATTENTION: Install our latest app for Android, read best news on Nigeria’s #1 news app

It was reported that the APC explained that such a move would sanitise the country’s electoral system.

Nwachukwu Eze, the chairman of Ebonyi chapter of APC made the call in an interview with on Monday in Abakaliki.

NAIJ.com (naija.ng) -> Legit.ng Same great journalism, upgraded for better service!

Imo: APC supporters counter PDP's protest | - on Legit TV

Source: Legit.ng

Online view pixel