The 18 parties that survived INEC’s hammer (see list)

The 18 parties that survived INEC’s hammer (see list)

- INEC has deregistered 74 political parties in Nigeria

- The parties were deregistered by the electoral body because of their poor outing during the 2019 general elections

- 18 political parties, however, escaped the deregistration

Following their poor outing during the 2019 general elections and the previous polls in Nigeria, the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) on Thursday, February 6, reduced the number of registered political parties. reports that the electoral body affirmed 18 political parties after it deregistered 74 parties that participated during the last general election.

Some notable Nigerians have been calling for the deregistration of some parties in order to pave way for a healthy political contest among the major political parties in the subsequent elections.

One of the reasons for the call was the fact that it gives the ruling party an opportunity to always manipulate the process and the outcome of the election.

Deregistered parties react to INEC’s action, reveal their next action

It is believed that the two-party system as being practised during the 1993 presidential election would be better for Nigeria's political space now because politicians would either be in party A or B.

Mahmood Yakubu, who is the chairman of the electoral body, on Thursday, February 6, announced the deregistration of 74 parties at a press conference in Abuja.

He said the parties were axed because of their failure to meet various criteria stipulated by the constitution during the elections.

The INEC chairman said the number of Nigeria’s political parties are now 18.

1. Accord Party A

2. Action Alliance AA

3. African Action Congress AAC

4. African Democratic Congress ADC

5. African Democratic Party ADP

6. All Progressives Congress APC

7. All Progressives Grand Alliance APGA

8. Allied Peoples Movement APM

9. Labour Party LP

10. New Nigeria Peoples Party NNPP

11. National Rescue Movement NRM

12. Peoples Democratic Party PDP

13. Peoples Redemption Party PRP

14. Social Democratic Party SDP

15. Young Progressive Party YPP

16. Zenith Labour Party ZLP

17. Action Peoples Party APP

18. Boot Party BT

Breaking: APC, PDP survive as INEC deregisters over 70 political parties

It would be recalled that the National Assembly recently amended the constitution to allow INEC deregister political parties on the following grounds:

- Breach of any of the requirements for registration as a party

- The failure to win at least 25% of the votes cast in one state in a presidential election or 25% of the votes cast in one local government area

- The failure to win at least one ward in a chairmanship election, one seat in the national or state assembly election or one seat in a councilorship election.

Yakubu said INEC carried out an assessment of the political parties to determine compliance with the requirements for their registration.

PAY ATTENTION: Install our latest app for Android, read the best news on Nigeria’s #1 news app

He said they were assessed on the basis of their performance in the general elections as well as in the area council elections in the federal capital territory (FCT), after which 75 were found to not have met the aforementioned criteria.

New polling units to be created for 2023 election - INEC chairman

Nigerians have commended the move, saying it is time to get serious in the country.

A Twitter user identified as DREYLO wrote: "INEC de-registers 75 political parties, leaving only 16. Now we are getting serious in this country. It’s time to remove all these carry over parties. But the question is what if our Messiah is in one of these little parties?"

Meanwhile, had previously reported that following their bad out in the 2019 general election, the INEC after an assessment deregistered 74 political parties. ( -> Same great journalism, upgraded for better service!

Bayelsa election: Jonathan expresses disappointment over INEC’s conduct | - on Legit TV


Online view pixel