Amaechi, Akpabio absent as APC south-south caucus appoints Omo-Agege leader

Amaechi, Akpabio absent as APC south-south caucus appoints Omo-Agege leader

- Senate deputy president, Ovie Omo-Agege, has been made the leader of APC in the south-south

- The nomination was made on Thursday, November 28

- Minister of transportation, Rotimi Amaechi and other leaders in the zone were not in the meeting where Omo-Agege was made the leader

Deputy Senate president, Senator Ovie Omo-Agege, has been appointed the leader of south-south caucus of the All Progressives Congress (APC) in the region.

The Nation reports that the choice of Omo-Agege as leader of the party in the geopolitical zone on the evening of Thursday, November 28, was taken in the absence of some other key and senior members of the party from the region who were not part of the event. gathered that the vice national chairman of the party (south-south), Hillard Eta, at whose instance the meeting was called, said the event was to appraise the performance of the party in the last general elections and the recent feat recorded with its victory in Bayelsa state.

Crisis hits Adamawa PDP as aggrieved members form R-PDP, give reasons

He said having had an addition to states under the APC control in the zone, the warring chieftains in the zone should close ranks, saying that they should avoid media war on issues that affect the party.

It was gathered that among the issues reportedly discussed at the meeting were the crisis in the Edo state chapter of the party, the rumbles besetting the Niger Delta Development Commission (NDDC) crises in Rivers, Akwa-Ibom, Cross River, among others.

Some of the chieftains of the party who stayed away from the meeting were the Edo state governor, Godwin Obaseki, minister of transportation, Rotimi Amaechi, his counterpart in the ministry of Niger Delta Affairs, Senator Godswil Akpabio and the director-general of Nigeria Maritime Administration and Safety Agency (NIMASA), Dakuku Peterside.

Some of those in attendance included Chief Don Etiebet, Senator Ndoma Egba, Senator Ita Enang, Chief Umanah Umanah, Senator Omo-Agege, among others.

PAY ATTENTION: Get the Latest Nigerian News Anywhere 24/7. Spend less on the Internet!

Buhari gives marching order on Ajaokuta Steel Company, says what must be done

Meanwhile, had previously reported that Omo-Agege congratulated the APC governorship candidate in Bayelsa, David Lyon, on his election victory. ( -> Same great journalism, upgraded for better service!

Kogi election: Kogi deputy governor reacts to APC victory | - on Legit TV


Online view pixel