Appeal Court affirms election of senators Ekweremadu, Abba Moro, Ifeanyi Ubah

Appeal Court affirms election of senators Ekweremadu, Abba Moro, Ifeanyi Ubah

- The election victory of three serving senators have been upheld by the Court of Appeal

- The senators are Ike Ekweremadu, Abba Moro and Ifeanyi Ubah

- While Ekweremadu and Moro are of the PDP, Ubah is a member of little known YPP

The appeal court sitting in Makurdi, the Benue state capital, on Tuesday, October 29, upheld the election of Abba Moro as the senator representing Benue South senatorial district.

The All Progressives Congress (APC) candidate and former deputy governor of the state, Steve Lawani, had approached the Appellant Court after the tribunal threw out his case for lack of merit.

However, delivering its judgement, the Appeal Court, led by Hon. Justice Jumai Sankey, upheld the decision of the lower court.

Moro, a former minister of interior, contested the election on the platform of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP).

At the Enugu division of the Appeal Court, the election of former deputy Senate president, Ike Ekweremadu was upheld.

Breaking: Court summons Lagos speaker Obasa, other lawmakers over Ambode's probe

Ekweremadu who contested under the platform of the PDP, represents Enugu West senatorial district.

In a unanimous judgment delivered by the panel chaired by Justice I.M. Salawu, the court dismissed the appeal filed by Mrs. Juliet Ibekaku-Nwagwu of the APC for lacking merit.

The Court of Appeal sitting in Enugu also affirmed the electoral victory of Ifeanyi Ubah as the senator representing Anambra South senatorial district.

The appellate court upheld the decision of the tribunal and dismissed the appeals of Chief Chris Uba of PDP and Senator Andy Uba of APC for lacking merit.

Ubah, a billionaire businessman, contested for the election under the platform of the Young Democratic Party.

PAY ATTENTION: Install our latest app for Android and read best news on Nigeria’s #1 news app

Earlier, the Enugu Appellant Court declared Honourable Obinna Chidoka as the duly elected House of Representatives member representing Idemili North and Idemili South federal constituency.

Breaking: APC loses again as Court of Appeal sacks lawmaker, orders fresh election in Sokoto

The court sacked All Progressives Grand Alliance (APGA)'s candidate Ibezi Ifeanyichukwu and ordered the Independent National Electoral Commission to issue a Certificate of Return to Chidoka and withdraw that of the APGA candidate.

‘Nigerians have comprehensively rejected PDP’ | Legit TV

Source: Legit Nigeria

Mailfire view pixel